UPDATE: Missouri City to begin accepting City Council candidate applications

Updated Aug. 9, 9:46 a.m.:
Added Cheryl Sterling to District A, Sam Chatriwala and Raj Joseph to District C, and Cindy Forney to District D.

Updated July 29, 10:19 a.m.:
District D incumbent Floyd Emery applied to run for re-election.

Updated July 23, 9:07 a.m.:
District B incumbent Jeffrey Boney announced his run for re-election.

Original post:
Candidates who want to run for Missouri City City Council positions A, B, C and D can begin filing for a place on the ballot July 20.

The city, in a release, said it would start accepting applications on the next regular business day, July 22, starting at 8 a.m.

The term of office for the council member positions is two years—November 2019-21.

Several people have already kicked off campaigns, either via social media announcements or press release, including:

District A
Reginald Pearson, District A council member
Cheryl Sterling, retired educator

District B
Jeffrey Boney, District B council member
JaPaula Kemp, attorney and Missouri City TIRZ board member

District C
Anthony Maroulis, District C council member
Sam Chatriwala, engineering consultant
Raj Joseph, lecturer

District D
Floyd Emery, District D council member
Cindy Forney, self-employed

Campaign timeline:

  • July 20: first day to file for place on the ballot

  • Aug. 19: last day to file an application for a place on the ballot

  • Aug. 23: last day for a write-in candidate to declare candidacy

  • Aug. 26: last day for a ballot candidate and write-in candidate to withdraw from the election and have name removed

  • Sept. 21: first day candidate political signs may be posted

  • Nov. 5: Election Day



Fort Bend County Sheriff Troy Nehls announces campaign for Texas Congressional District 22 seat

Incumbent Pete Olson said he will not seek re-election for this position earlier this year.

FEYDUPS KITCHEN now serving African cuisine in Sugar Land

Chef Adunni Fodeke said she is excited to bring bold flavors to Sugar Land.

Outback Steakhouse now open at The Grid development in Stafford

Outback Steakhouse relocated from Sugar Land

Wing Station opens second location at Riverstone in Sugar Land

The other area Wing Station opened in late 2018 in Missouri City.

State Rep. Rick Miller drops reelection bid after saying opponents were challenging him because they’re Asian

State Rep. Rick Miller, R-Sugar Land, is no longer running for reelection after he sparked a firestorm for saying he was facing primary challengers because they are “Asian.”

(Courtesy Adobe Stock)
Here’s where to vote for the state House District 28 runoff election

Early voting runs Jan. 21-14, and election day is Jan. 28.

(Beth Marshall/Community Impact Newspaper)
BREAKING: The Sugar Land 95 have been laid to rest

The remains of The Sugar Land 95, the individuals discovered at an unmarked and historic cemetery at the James Reese Career and Technical Center's construction site in Fort Bend ISD have been laid to rest at the site where their remains were originally found, according to a Dec. 3 release from FBISD.

New federal funding available for small businesses affected by Hurricane Harvey

Small-business owners can apply for up to $250,000 dollars in federal disaster relief.

People Feature: Sugar Land City Manager Allen Bogard to retire in January 2020

When Sugar Land City Manager Allen Bogard first came to work for the city almost 25 years ago, he had no intention of staying long term. Now, after serving as Sugar Land’s second city manager for nearly two decades, Bogard will retire in January 2020.

(Courtesy Fotolia)
Senior Living Guide: 19 residential options in Sugar Land and Missouri City

As the number of senior adults nationwide and in the Sugar Land and Missouri City areas continues to grow, so does demand for residential options.

(Source: Solar United Neighbors/Community Impact Newspaper)
Solar power emerging in Fort Bend County

A group of residents in Lake Olympia are opting to power their homes with solar energy.

David Sebek and Tracie Whitacre opened Escape Again Rooms in Sugar Land in November 2016.
Escape Again Rooms owners provide customized challenging experiences in Sugar Land

Beginning the week of Dec. 16, since colleges and local school districts will be on winter break, Escape Again Rooms will be open every day aside from Christmas Day until school is back in session.

Back to top