Incumbent Myriam Saldivar and Rebecca Broussard each won their races for positions on the Lone Star College System board of trustees during the Nov. 8 election.

Saldivar, who will represent District 6, took in 14,943 votes, or 54.2% of the total votes, while challenger Joe Gordon took in 12,625 votes, or 45.8%. Broussard, who will represent District 7, received 47,969 votes, or 82.84% of the total, while challenger Rota Yates-Wiltz received 9,940 votes, or 17.16%.

David A. Vogt was elected to represent District 5 after running unopposed.

Lone Star College System Chancellor Stephen C. Head touted the newly elected and returning board members.

“I look forward to working with both the newly elected member of the Lone Star College System board of trustees and those returning for another term,” Head said in a Nov. 9 news release. “I also want to express my appreciation to the returning board members for their commitment to our students helping [to] provide the resources necessary to receive the highest quality of education possible.”

Lone Star College trustees serve six-year terms with three positions up for election every two years. Trustees are elected by the voters who live in the district the trustee represents.

The Lone Star College System consists of eight colleges, seven centers, eight workforce centers and Lone Star Corporate College.

Results are unofficial until canvassed. Visit to see results from all local elections in your community.