Editor's note: The most recent story from 10 a.m. March 6 was updated with comments from Republican candidate Marshall Slot.

Updated 1:30 p.m. March 6

Unofficial final results from the March 5 primaries show Democratic incumbent Eric Fagan will face off against Republican candidate Marshall Slot in the Nov. 5 race for Fort Bend County sheriff.

Fagan won with 55.81% of votes against challengers Sonny Colunga, Geneane Hughes and Pete Luna. Meanwhile, Slot received 61.77% of votes compared to Republican candidates Mo Nehad and John Minchew.

In their own words

"All the glory goes to my lord and savior, because with that many opponents, everyone was saying I was going into a runoff, so I give all the glory to the Lord," Fagan said in a March 6 phone interview. "I also want to thank the people of Fort Bend County for continuing their trust in me, and I want to continue the work that I've started in addressing human trafficking, gangs, domestic violence—all the things that I promised when I first ran. I want to keep that promise, and I want to continue to build this agency."

In a March 6 phone interview, Slot said this is his first time running for public office, so he was "humbled and honored" to garner the support in the Republican primary.

"In the near future, we're going to be focusing on shaping up the campaign effort for the general [election]," he said. "I will be focused on serving the entire community, and it truly is about protecting the entire community—period. It's not about whether they're Republicans or Democrats, whether they're Black, white, Hispanic, Asian, Southeast Asian, Middle Eastern; it doesn't matter. I'm looking forward to earning the votes in November to serve the entire community and protect them and make this place safer."

All votes are unofficial until canvassed.

Updated 10:45 p.m. March 5

Unofficial results show incumbent Eric Fagan maintains the lead in the March 5 Democratic primary race for Fort Bend County sheriff with 56.65% of votes; Marshall Slot has a tallied 62.48% of votes in the Republican primary race.

Fort Bend County Election Administrator John Oldham said elections staff are waiting on 26 of 73 voting centers to report their ballots, as of about 10:30 p.m. March 5. Community Impact will update this story in the morning with election results.

Election results are unofficial until canvassed.

Posted 8 p.m. March 5

Incumbent Eric Fagan is leading the March 5 Democratic primary race for Fort Bend County sheriff with 58.54% of votes, according to unofficial early voting results from Fort Bend County. In the Republican primary race, Marshall Slot leads with 64.2% of votes.

Current situation

Fagan is challenged by Pete Luna, Sonny Colunga and Geneane Hughes as Democratic candidates for sheriff.

Slot faces off with Mo Nehad and John Minchew as the Republican candidates.

As of 7.30 p.m. March 5, early voting results for the Democratic race are as follows:
  • Fagan has received 14,028 votes, or 58.54%
  • Hughes has received 4,338 votes, or 18.1%
  • Colunga has received 2,860 votes, or 11.94%
  • Luna has received 2,736, or 11.42% of votes
Meanwhile, in the Republican candidate race, unofficial results are as follows:
  • Slot has gathered 19,657 votes, or 64.2%
  • Minchew has received 6,259 votes, or 20.44%
  • Nehad has received 4,701 votes, or 15.35%
All results are unofficial until canvassed.

A closer look

Click here to learn more about the Democratic candidates and here to learn more about the Republican candidates.

Fagan was elected sheriff in November 2020. The Fort Bend County Sheriff's Office website states the department's grants team has received upward of $5.1 million in his term to purchase safety equipment—the most of any preceding sheriff's office.

Slot said in a Q&A with Community Impact his 30-plus years in law enforcement, with 24 years in Fort Bend and 15 years of corporate security, will prepare him to assume the role of Fort Bend County sheriff.

Visit communityimpact.com/voter-guide/election-results to see results from all local elections in your community.