At a May 15 meeting, three newly elected members officially took their places on the Katy ISD board of trustees.

Amy Thieme, Morgan Calhoun and Mary Ellen Cuzela were sworn into positions 3, 4 and 5, respectively, after votes were canvassed during the meeting.

Further changes to the board included Victor Perez’s election to president of the district’s governing body in a 6-2 vote. Meanwhile, Thieme was elected vice president of the board in a 6-2 vote.

Perez, who was elected in May 2022, said he hopes to continue working collaboratively with all board members, particularly when it comes to improving student outcomes.

“It's a great honor,” Perez said. “I look forward to ... doing the best that we can for the district as a whole, for all the students of the district, for being an advocate for parents and for working to improve student outcomes.”

In addition, Board Member Dawn Champagne, who has a five-year tenure, obtained a second term as secretary of the board in an unanimous vote.

Board Member Rebecca Fox, who said she has served on the board for 17 years, dissented on the vote to elect Perez and nominated the former vice president, Board Member Lance Redmon, who also dissented.

“My vote reflected my belief that the experience is critical to the leadership [of the board of trustees] and all that happens,” Fox said.