Water surrounds Cypress Ranch High School on Fry Road. CFISD officials will conduct an assessment of all district facilities after flood conditions improve.[/caption]

Commissioner of Education, Mike Morath, has given permission to all school districts and charter schools that fall within Gov. Greg Abbott's disaster proclamation for Hurricane Harvey to apply for missed school day waivers for all scheduled instructional days missed, according to a press release from the Texas Education Agency.

These waivers will excuse school systems that fall within the declared disaster counties from having to make up missed days due to Hurricane Harvey.

According to the release, there are currently 58 counties listed on Governor Abbott's disaster proclamation:

Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy and Wilson.

For some districts the 2017-18 school year had already begun, while others were to begin Aug. 28, two days after the hurricane made landfall. Morath has given instruction for districts and charter schools that began the school year prior to Aug. 28  to apply for missed school day waivers for the instructional school days missed from Friday, Aug. 25 to Friday, Sept. 1, according to the TEA release.

Districts and charter schools that were scheduled to begin the week of Aug. 28 have been instructed to apply for missed school day waivers for the instructional school days missed from Monday, Aug. 28 to Friday, Sept. 1. Additional waivers may be given to school systems that will miss more days after Sept. 4 due to hurricane destruction, Morath said in the release.

The release states that Morath is in contact with school superintendents and is working with Education Service Centers in the communities most affected by Hurricane Harvey. Find a Hurricane Harvey resource page for school districts and charters here.

The following school districts around the Greater Houston area announced closures due to Hurricane Harvey from Monday, Aug. 28 until Tuesday, Sept. 5.

• Klein ISD
• Spring ISD
• Cy-Fair ISD
• Conroe ISD
• Montgomery ISD
• Willis ISD
• Tomball ISD
• Magnolia ISD
• Humble ISD
• New Caney ISD
• Katy ISD
• Fort Bend ISD
• Pearland ISD
• Friendswood ISD
• Lamar CISD
• Alvin ISD
• Stafford MSD

Some districts listed may have closed prior to Aug. 28.