Dates to know

Feb. 14: First day of early voting

Feb. 18: Last day to apply for ballot by mail (received, not postmarked)

Feb. 25: Last day of early voting

March 1: Primary election day

March 1: Last day to receive ballot by mail (or March 3 if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7 p.m. at location of election)

Where to vote

Harris County residents can vote at any voting center in the county during early voting and on election day. Visit for a full list of polling locations.


Voters can vote in the Republican or Democratic primary, but not both. Only candidates in contested primary elections are listed below.



Paul Belew

Danny Harrison (R)

Rick Perry** (R)

Allen B. West (R)

Greg Abbott* (R)

Don Huffines (R)

Kandy Kaye Horn (R)

Chad Prather (R)

Rich Wakeland (D)

Beto O’Rourke (D)

Joy Diaz (D)

Inocencio (Inno) Barrientez (D)

Michael Cooper (D)

Lieutenant governor

Todd M. Bullis (R)

Dan Patrick* (R)

Daniel Miller (R)

Zach Vance (R)

Aaron Sorrells (R)

Trayce Bradford (R)

Michelle Beckley (D)

Carla Brailey (D)

Mike Collier (D)

Attorney general

Ken Paxton*

Louie Gohmert (R)

George P. Bush (R)

Eva Guzman (R)

S. “T-Bone” Raynor (D)

Lee Merritt (D)

Mike Fields (D)

Joe Jaworski (D)

Rochelle Mercedes Garza (D)

Comptroller of public accounts

Mark V. Goloby

Glenn Hegar* (R)

Janet T. Dudding (D)

Tim Mahoney (D)

Angel Luis Vega (D)

Commissioner of the General Land Office

Rufus Lopez

Victor Avila (R)

Tim Westley (R)

Don W. Minton (R)

Ben Armenta (R)

Weston Martinez (R)

Jon Spiers (R)

Dawn Buckingham (R)

Jinny Suh (D)

Michael Lange (D)

Sandragrace Martinez (D)

Jay Kleberg (D)

Commissioner of agriculture

Sid Miller*

James White (R)

Carey A. Counsil (R)

Susan Hays (D)

Ed Ireson (D)

Railroad commissioner

Dawayne Tipton

Tom Slocum Jr. (R)

Wayne Christian* (R)

Marvin “Sarge” Summers (R)

Sarah Stogner (R)

Supreme Court justice, Place 9

David J. Schenck (R)

Evan Young* (R)

Court of Criminal Appeals judge, Place 5

Scott Walker*

Clint Morgan (R)


U.S. House of Representatives, District 8

Christian Collins (R)

Jessica Wellington (R)

Jonathan Hullihan (R)

Candice C. Burrows (R)

Jonathan A. Mitchell (R)

Michael Philips (R)

Morgan Luttrell (R)

Betsy Bates (R)

Dan McKaughan (R)

Chuck Montgomery (R)

Taylor M. Whichard IV (R)

U.S. House of Representatives, District 38

David Hogan (R)

Damien Matthew Peter Mockus (R)

Jerry Ford (R)

Richard Welch (R)

Wesley Hunt (R)

Brett Guillory (R)

Mark Ramsey (R)

Roland Lopez (R)

Phil Covarrubias (R)

Alex Cross (R)

Duncan F. Klussmann (D)

Centrell Reed (D)

Diana Martinez Alexander (D)

Texas House of Representatives, District 132

Mike Schofield* (R)

Erik Le (R)

Chase West (D)

Cameron “Cam” Campbell (D)

Texas House of Representatives, District 138

Josh Flynn (R)

Christine Kalmbach (R)

Lacey Hull* (R)

Harris County judge

H.Q. Bolanos (R)

George Harry Zoes (R)

Alexandra del Moral Mealer

Vidal Martinez (R)

Robert Dorris

Randy Kubosh (R)

Martina Lemond Dixon (R)

Oscar Gonzales (R)

Warren A. Howell (R)

Georgia D. Provost (D)

Erica Davis (D)

Maria Garcia (D)

Ahmad R. “Robbeto” Hassan (D)

Lina Hidalgo* (D)

Kevin Howard (D)

Harris County treasurer

Eric Dick

Kyle Scott (R)

Carla L. Wyatt (D)

Dylan Osborne* (D)

Harris County Precinct 4 commissioner

Clarence Miller

Gina Calanni (D)

Ann Williams (D)

Lesley Briones (D)

Sandra Pelmore (D)

Jeff Stauber (D)

Benjamin “Ben” Chou (D)


**Candidate is not former Gov. Rick Perry