For the upcoming Nov. 2 election, the city of Bellaire has one candidate running for mayor and seven candidates running for three City Council positions, according to filings with the city clerk.

Aug. 16 at 5 p.m. was the deadline for candidates to file for a place on the ballot, according to the Texas Secretary of State’s website.

According to the Bellaire city clerk, council members can serve two consecutive four-year terms, while the mayor is able to serve four consecutive two-year terms.

The last day for residents to register to vote is Oct. 4. Early voting is Oct. 18-29. The last day to receive a ballot by mail is Nov. 2 at 7 p.m. For more information, visit the Harris County Election Division website.

Here is a full list of the candidates. Candidates are listed in order of date/time of filing.


Andrew Friedberg*

Council member—Position No. 1

Winfred C. Frazier

Kevin Newman

Council member—Position No. 3

Javier Vega

Ross Gordon

Council member—Position No. 5

Brian Witt

Andréa Ehlers

David Montalvo


The incumbent for council member Position 1, Neil Verma, was eligible to run but chose not to do so, according to the city clerk, while the council member for Position 3 and Mayor Pro Tem Gus Pappas as well as council member for Position 5 Michael Fife are term-limited and are ineligible to run for council.