Early voting in Collin and Denton counties for the May 24 primary runoff election saw 27,819 ballots cast out of more than 1.26 million registered voters in the two counties. Turnout during early voting was more than 2.1%, according to unofficial results from elections offices in Collin and Denton counties.

On the ballot are three statewide offices for Republicans and four statewide offices for Democrats. There are also a handful of local and county races.

Under state law, voters who cast a ballot in the March 1 primary must vote in that same party’s runoff election. Those who did not vote in the primary may vote in either the Republican Party or Democratic Party runoff, according to a news release from the Texas Secretary of State.

In Collin and Denton counties, polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on May 24.

Voters in Collin County may cast a ballot at any vote center. Click here for polling locations in Collin County. In Denton County, voters must cast their ballot at their designated precinct. Click here for polling locations in Denton County.

Here are the candidates on the ballot for voters in Plano:


Lieutenant governor (Democrat): Michelle Beckley and Mike Collier

Attorney general (Republican): Ken Paxton (incumbent) and George P. Bush

Attorney general (Democrat): Joe Jaworski and Rochelle Mercedes Garza

Comptroller of public accounts (Democrat): Janet T. Dudding and Angel Luis Vega

Commissioner of the General Land Office (Republican): Tim Westley and Dawn Buckingham

Commissioner of the General Land Office (Democrat): Sandragrace Martinez and Jay Kleberg

Railroad commissioner (Republican): Wayne Christian (incumbent) and Sarah Stogner


U.S. representative, District 32 (Republican): Justin Webb and Antonio Swad

State representative, District 70 (Republican): Jamee Jolly and Eric J. Bowlin

State representative, District 70 (Democrat): Mihaela Elizabeth Plesa and Cassandra Garcia Hernandez

Collin County

Collin County party chair (Democrat): Caroline Werner and Mike Rawlins

Collin County Criminal Court No. 5 judge (Republican): Randy Johnson and Jimmy Angelino

Collin County district clerk (Republican): Mike Gould and Lynne Finley

Collin County constable, Precinct 1 (Republican): Cris Trevino and Matt Carpenter