Ken Sipiora appointed as new chairman for McKinney Economic Development Corp.


McKinney Economic Development Corp. board member Ken Sipiora was appointed to serve as chairman of the board. The decision was made by the board during a special meeting March 5.

A new chairman was appointed after former Chairman Jason Burress resigned from the board Feb. 19. Burress resigned due to what he said was “objectiveness and bias in the analysis and presentation of certain projects” delivered to the MEDC board.

To fill Burress’s seat on the MEDC board, Dr. Gere’ Feltus was appointed by McKinney City Council during a special council meeting March 4. Feltus will serve as a new board member until September.

Feltus helped with the McKinney bond committee and is medical director of the Mesquite Employee Health Center. Mayor Pro Tem Tracy Rath said she appointed Feltus because she wanted to see more diversity on the MEDC board. Feltus is the only woman sitting on the board.

Meeting highlights

City Council appointed Bry Taylor to serve on the Planning and Zoning board during the council meeting March 4. Taylor was previously appointed to serve as an alternative to the board.

Council also appointed Scott Woodruff to the Planning and Zoning board. Woodruff will serve as an alternative to the board.

Council appointed Woodruff to fill a vacant seat left by Rick Franklin. Franklin resigned from the board because he is running for the McKinney City Council District 4 seat.

Editor’s note: This article has been updated. 

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Cassidy Ritter
Cassidy graduated from the University of Kansas in 2016 with a degree in Journalism and a double minor in business and global studies. She has worked as a reporter and editor for publications in Kansas, Colorado and Australia. She was hired as senior reporter for Community Impact Newspaper's Plano edition in August 2016. Less than a year later, she took the role of editor for the McKinney edition.
Back to top