As the primary elections draw closer, a number of state and local candidates will face challengers in Dallas County.

According to the Texas Secretary of State Office’s website, Texas will hold Republican and Democratic primaries March 5 to determine who will be on the ballot in November.

In addition to the presidential and statewide contests, several county positions will be on the March 5 ballot, where voters can opt to weigh in on which candidate will represent their political party.

Dates to know
  • Feb. 20: First day of early voting
  • Feb. 23: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail
  • March 1: Last day of early voting
  • March 5: Election day
  • March 5: Last day to receive ballot by mail (or March 6 if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7 p.m. at the location of the election on election day)
Where to vote

Voters in Dallas County may cast a ballot at any polling location during early voting and on election day. Visit to see a full list of where to vote during early voting and on election day.


Check out the state and county candidates who will be appearing on the March 5 primary ballot for voters in Dallas County. To see a full list of candidates who have filed for races for federal offices, click here. Only candidates in contested elections are included. Visit county election websites for information on uncontested races.

Note: *denotes incumbents


State Senator, District 16

  • Victoria Neave Criado
  • Nathan Johnson*
State representative, District 100

  • Barbara Mallory Caraway
  • Sandra Crenshaw
  • Venton Jones*
  • Justice McFarlane
State representative, District 107

  • Linda Garcia
  • Christine T. Roman
State representative, District 108

  • Morgan Meyer*
  • Barry Wernick
  • Elizabeth Ginsberg
  • Yasmin Simon
State representative, District 109

  • Aicha Davis
  • Victoria Walton
State representative, District 112

  • Angie Chen Button*
  • Chad Carnahan
State representative, District 115

  • Scarlett Cornwalis
  • Cassandra Hernandez
  • Kate Rumsey
State Board of Education, District 12

  • Chad Green
  • Jamie Kohlmann
  • Pam Little*
  • Matt Rostami

Dallas County sheriff

  • Marian Brown*
  • Sam Mohamad
  • Rodney Thomas
  • Lupe Valdez
  • Roy Williams Jr.
Dallas County tax assessor collector

  • John R. Ames*
  • Elaine Campbell
Dallas County commissioner, Precinct 1

  • Theresa Marie Daniel*
  • Andre Turner
Dallas County commissioner, Precinct 3

  • Derek Avery
  • John Wiley Price*
Shelbie Hamilton contributed to this report.