In Dallas County, about 67,000 voters cast their ballots during the early voting period ahead of the May 6 general election, according to information from the county’s elections office.

Registered Dallas voters will be able to vote on election day at any polling location in Dallas County from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. About 1.39 million people are registered to vote in Dallas County, and less than 5% of those voters cast their ballots during early voting, according to data from the Dallas County Elections Department.

How to vote on election day

Dozens of polling sites will be open in the Lake Highlands and Lakewood area on election day. To find the closest site, visit the Dallas County Elections Department location finder.

In-person voters must bring identification with them to cast their ballot. These are the seven forms of acceptable identification:
  • Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety
  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by the DPS
  • Texas personal identification card issued by the DPS
  • Texas handgun license issued by the DPS
  • U.S. military identification card containing the voter’s photograph
  • U.S. citizenship certificate containing the voter’s photograph
  • Passport
Any voter who is physically unable to enter a polling place without assistance or likelihood of injury may use curbside voting assistance. To do so, call 469-627-8683 ahead of arrival to notify the election day clerk assistance is needed, and they will bring everything needed outside.

People can check whether they are registered to vote and view a personal sample ballot on the elections department website.

What’s on the ballot

In the city of Dallas, the ballot includes candidates for City Council and the Dallas ISD school board.

Out of the 14 council members, 12 incumbents are up for re-election, and two have reached their eight-year term limit. Mayor Eric Johnson is running unopposed.

Both District 9 incumbent Paula Blackmon, whose district includes Lakewood and parts of Lake Highlands, and District 14 incumbent Paul Ridley, whose district includes parts of east Dallas, filed to seek re-election. Blackmon will face challenger Kendra Denise Madison, while Ridley is being challenged by Amanda Jean Schulz and Joseph F. Miller​.

District 10 Council Member Adam McGough, whose district includes much of Lake Highlands, has reached his term limit along with District 3 Council Member Casey Thomas. Four candidates have applied for a place on the District 10 ballot: Sirrano Baldeo, Brian Hasenbauer, Kathy Stewart and Chris Carter.

Council members are elected to two-year terms, while the mayor is elected to a four-year term. This will be the first council election using new district maps approved in June.

For the Dallas ISD board of trustees, the seats for districts 2, 6 and 8 are up for election. District 8 incumbent Joe Carreón is running unopposed.

Jimmy Tran, Kevin Malonson, Leon Solimani and Sarah Weinberg have filed to run for the open District 2 seat. Incumbent Dustin Marshall did not file for re-election. District 6 incumbent Joyce Forman has filed for re-election and will face challenger Stephen Poole.

Board members serve three-year staggered terms and are not subject to term limits, according to the Dallas ISD website.

Lake Highlands- and Lakewood-area voters can find information about what’s on their ballot in Community Impact’s 2023 Voter Guide.