Here's a list of candidates running in the 2020 primary for Texas, Tarrant County offices

Filing for the March 2020 primaries opened on Nov. 9. (Courtesy Fotolia)
Filing for the March 2020 primaries opened on Nov. 9. (Courtesy Fotolia)

Filing for the March 2020 primaries opened on Nov. 9. (Courtesy Fotolia)

The deadline for candidates to appear on the March 3 primary election ballot passed 6 p.m. Dec. 9. Tarrant County voters will choose among Democratic and Republican candidates to run for county, state and federal offices in the 2020 general election.

The last day to register to vote in the primaries is Feb. 3, and early voting will begin on Feb. 18.

Here is the list of local candidates who will appear on the March 3 ballot. Denton County voters can find their local candidates here.

* indicates incumbent

Tarrant County sheriff

Bill Waybourn, R*

Vance Keyes, D

Tarrant County tax assessor-collector

Wendy Burgess, R*

Olliephine Anderson, D

Tarrant County commissioner precinct 1

Roy E. Lozano, R

Roy Brooks, D*

Tarrant County commissioner precinct 3

Gary Fickes, R*

Kathy Braatz, D

Tarrant County constable precinct 1

Dale Clark, R*

Calvin "Cal" Hudson, R

Scott Gerlikovski, D

Tarrant County constable precinct 2

David Woodruff, R*

Robert J. McGinty, D

Tarrant County constable precinct 3

Darrell Huffman, R

Tarrant County constable precinct 4

Joe D. “Jody” Johnson, R*

Tarrant County constable precinct 5

Daniel Flores, D

Ruben Garcia, D*

Pedro “Pete” Munoz, D

John Wright, D

Tarrant County constable precinct 6

Jon Siegel, R*

Kelicia Lyons, D

Tarrant County constable precinct 7

Clint C. Burgess, R*

Charles Hatley, D

Sandra Lee, D

Tarrant County constable precinct 8

Clarence Bullocks, Jr., D

Michael Campbell, D*

Kengee E. Ford, D

Roosevelt L. Masters, Jr., D

Kenneth Sam, D

State representative District 63

Tan Parker, R*

Leslie Peeler, D

State representative District 91

Stephanie Klick, R*

Jerome Sims, D

State representative District 92

Jeff Cason, R

Taylor Gillig, R

Jim Griffin, R

Steven Riddell, D

Jeff Whitfield, D

State representative District 93

Matt Krause, R*

Lydia Bean, D

State representative District 98

Giovanni Capriglione, R*

Debra Edmondson, D

State representative District 115

Karyn Brownlee, R

Julie Johnson, D*

State senator District 12

Jane Nelson, R*

Randy Daniels, D

Shadi Zitoon, D

State Board of Education District 14

Sue Melton-Malone, R*

Greg Alvord, D

Editor's note: A previous version of this story used incomplete filing records. This post has been updated to include the candidates who filed to run for the State Board of Education's District 14 seat and candidates who filed but were not listed on the Secretary of State's website.
By Renee Yan
Renee Yan graduated May 2017 from the University of Texas in Arlington with a degree in journalism, joining Community Impact Newspaper as a reporter in July.


Dutch Bros Coffee is now open in McKinney. (Courtesy Dutch Bros Coffee)
Dutch Bros Coffee opens in McKinney; Urban Seafood Co. coming to Plano and more DFW-area news

Read the latest business and community news from the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

Parry's Pizzeria & Taphouse is coming to McKinney in June. (Courtesy Parry's Pizzeria & Taphouse)
Parry's Pizzeria coming to McKinney; ax-throwing experience opens in Roanoke and more DFW-area news

Read the latest business and community news from the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

Peoples, Parker will be back on the ballot on June 5 for the mayoral runoff election. (Community Impact Newspaper Staff)
Q&A: Peoples, Parker in June 5 runoff ballot for Fort Worth mayor

Deborah Peoples and Mattie Parker will face each other in the June 5 runoff election for Fort Worth mayor.

CDC ends all mask requirements for fully vaccinated people

The guidance states fully vaccinated people do not need to wear masks indoors or outdoors.

Shannon Dubberly raises his hand in front of a judge while being sworn in
Sean Hicks, newcomer Shannon Dubberly sworn in to Keller City Council

Keller City Council canvassed the results of the May 1 municipal election at a May 12 special meeting.

Global infrastructure firm Southland Holdings relocates headquarters to Grapevine

Southland Holdings has relocated to a larger corporate headquarters office space in Grapevine.

(Courtesy Mughlai Fine Indian Cuisine)
New Indian restaurant opens in Frisco; State Farm hiring in Richardson and more DFW news

Read the latest business and community news from the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

House Bill 1024, signed into law May 12, allows restaurants and bars to permanently sell alcoholic beverages to-go. (Courtesy Pexels)
Cocktails to-go are here to stay in Texas: Gov. Greg Abbott signs change into law May 12

Supporters say the change will help restaurants continue to recover from the economic effects of the coronavirus pandemic.

A man and a woman laughing with target boards
FlannelJax's ax-throwing experience now open in Roanoke

Groups can try out a varity of lumberjack sports that encourage competition or collaboration.

Plano ISD expects to resume pre-COVID-19 activities this summer and fully return to the classroom in 2021-22. (Community Impact Newspaper staff)
See how Dallas-Fort Worth-area school districts are planning to go back to school for the 2021-22 academic year

Several school districts in the Dallas-Fort Worth area—including Frisco, Plano, Northwest, Lewisville, McKinney, Grapevine-Colleyville and Carroll ISDs—have made back-to-school plans for the 2021-22 school year regarding face masks, close-contact quarantines and in-person and virtual learning.