Here's a list of candidates running in the 2020 primary for Texas, Denton County offices

(Courtesy Adobe Stock)
(Courtesy Adobe Stock)

(Courtesy Adobe Stock)

Denton County voters will have the chance to go to the polls March 3 to vote in local, state and national elections. Candidates had to file by Dec. 9 to run in any of these races. Below is a list of candidates running for state and local offices.

*Indicates incumbent

Denton County


Dugan Broomfield, R

Tracy Murphree, R*

Bryan “Wilkie” Wilkinson, R

County tax assessor-collector

Michelle French, R*

Precinct 1 commissioner

Hugh Coleman, R*

Ryan Williams, R

Sandy Swan, D

Precinct 2 commissioner

Bobbie J. Mitchell, R*

Delia Parker-Mims, D

Precinct 1 constable

Johnny Hammons, R*

Precinct 2 constable

Michael A. Truitt, R*

Precinct 3 constable

Dan Rochelle, R

Jeri Rodriguez, R

Precinct 4 constable

Timothy Wayne Burch, R*

Danny Fletcher, R

Precinct 5 constable

Doug Boydston, R*

Precinct 6 constable

Richard Bachus, R*


District 12 senator

Jane Nelson, R*

Randy Daniels, D

Shadi Zitoon, D

District 63 representative

Tan Parker(R)*

Leslie Peeler (D)

District 64 representative

Lynn Stucky, R*

Angela Brewer, D

District 65 representative

Michelle Beckley, D*

Paige Dixon, D

Nancy Cline, R

Kronda Thimesch, R

District 106 representative

Jared Patterson, R*

James Trombley, R

Jennifer Skidonenko, D

State Board of Education, District 14

Sue Melton-Malone (R)*

Greg Alvord (D)

Editor's note: This post has been updated to include the candidates who filed to run for the State Board of Education's District 14 seat.

By Anna Herod

Anna Herod covers local government, education, business and the environment as the editor of Community Impact Newspaper's Lewisville/Flower Mound/Highland Village edition. In the past, Anna served as the reporter for Community Impact's San Marcos/Buda/Kyle paper. Her bylines have appeared in the Austin American-Statesman, Hays Free Press and The Burleson Star. She is a graduate of Texas State University's School of Journalism and Mass Communication.


Thrift City of Lewisville is set to relocate by the end of February. (Brian Pardue/Community Impact Newspaper)
Thrift City of Lewisville to remain open, relocate

In December, Thrift City announced it would close. However, it will now remain open in a new location.

aquakids swim school lewisville castle hills
AquaKids Swim School coming soon to Castle Hills

AquaKids Swim School is set to open just in time for summer.

151 coffee
151 Coffee coming soon to Lewisville

A new coffee shop is coming to Lewisville this spring.

(Photo by Anna Herod/Community Impact Newspaper)
Infrastructure construction to begin on Tequesta subdivision in Highland Village

Construction crews will begin construction on the infrastructure for the Tequesta subdivision in Highland Village this month, according to officials.

smash burger flower mound
Smash Burger of Flower Mound closed

The restaurant, which was located on justin Road, closed at the end of December.

lewisville fire department fire chief timothy tittle
Lewisville Fire Chief Timothy Tittle dies after cancer battle

Lewisville Fire Chief Timothy Tittle died early in the morning of Jan. 20 after years of battling cancer, according to officials.

Photo Courtesy Labyrinth Reality Games
Labyrinth Reality Games now open in Lewisville

Labyrinth Reality Games is an immersive reality realm featuring art installations, escape rooms and interactive experiences.

texas capitol building fotolia stock image
Public education the focus of upcoming forums with candidates for the Texas Legislature

The events are hosted by nonprofit advocacy group Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation.

lewisville isd
Two candidates file to run for Lewisville ISD board of trustees

On May 2, voters will get to cast a ballot to fill Places 6 and 7 on the Lewisville ISD board of trustees.

(Photo by Jason Lindsay/Community Impact Newspaper)
Eggspress Cafe now open in Highland Village

The cafe serves breakfast and lunch items such as pancakes, waffles, crepes, hamburgers, chicken, steak, energy bowls and more. Visitors can order handcrafted coffee and espresso drinks.

hand placing ballot in ballot box fotolia stock image
Candidates begin to file to run for Lewisville, Flower Mound and Highland Village councils in May 2 elections

Candidates began filing Jan. 15 to run for election for various seats on Lewisville, Flower Mound and Highland Village councils.

(Photo by Brian Pardue/Community Impact Newspaper)
La Quinta by Wyndham now open in Lewisville

The new hotel opened at the end of 2019.

Back to top