Incumbents Mark Schluter and DeAnne Hatfield were sworn in May 24 for Northwest ISD board of trustees places 2 and 1, respectively.

Schluter, who was first elected to the board in 2006, retained his seat by 64.5% over Kevin Lebanik. Hatfield was elected in 2019 and ran uncontested this year.

In his candidate Q&A with Community Impact Newspaper, Schluter said that his top three priorities as a board member are students’ well-being, communication between the district and families, and protection for programs in the face of reduced state funding.

At the same meeting, the board re-elected Anne Davis-Simpson as president of the board, Steve Sprowls as vice president and Lillian Rauch as secretary.

The board canvassed the results of the May 1 election at a May 10 meeting, making the results official.