Early voting in Tarrant County for the May 24 primary runoff election saw 42,571 ballots cast out of nearly 1.24 million registered voters. Turnout during early voting was 3.44%, according to unofficial results from Tarrant County Elections Administration.

On the ballot are three statewide offices for Republicans and four statewide offices for Democrats. There are also a handful of local and county races. The winners in this election will advance to the Nov. 8 general election.

Under state law, voters who cast a ballot in the March 1 primary must vote in that same party’s runoff election. Those who did not vote in the primary may vote in either the Republican Party or Democratic Party runoff, according to a news release from the Texas Secretary of State.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. May 24 for the primary runoff election. Tarrant County voters may cast a ballot at any Vote Center. Click here for polling locations in Tarrant County.

Here are the candidates on the ballot for voters in the Grapevine, Colleyville and Southlake coverage area of Community Impact Newspaper:


Lieutenant governor (Democrat): Michelle Beckley and Mike Collier

Attorney general (Republican): Ken Paxton (incumbent) and George P. Bush

Attorney general (Democrat): Joe Jaworski and Rochelle Mercedes Garza

Comptroller of public accounts (Democrat): Janet T. Dudding and Angel Luis Vega

Commissioner of the General Land Office (Republican): Tim Westley and Dawn Buckingham

Commissioner of the General Land Office (Democrat): Sandragrace Martinez and Jay Kleberg

Railroad commissioner (Republican): Wayne Christian (incumbent) and Sarah Stogner


U.S. House of Representatives, District 24 (Democrat): Derrik Gay and Jan McDowell


Tarrant County criminal district attorney (Republican): Matt Krause and Phil Sorrells

County Criminal Court No. 5 judge (Republican): Mamie Johnson and Brad Clark