Newly elected Carroll ISD board members Cameron Bryan and Hannah Smith took their oath of office on May 12 following a contentious election.

Bryan won the Place 4 seat with 68.5% of votes in the May 1 election. Smith won the Place 5 seat with 69% of votes.

School Board President Michelle Moore said the election of new board members marks “a new chapter for Carroll ISD.”

Bryan and Smith declined to comment after being sworn in.

During the meeting, trustees were unable to elect a president with a majority vote. According to the school district's attorney, if the board is unable to come to a decision, the current president, Moore, remains in her position. Board member Eric Lannen was elected as vice president, and Smith was elected as secretary.

The election of Bryan and Smith comes as the Southlake community continues to deal with division relating to social issues. Work on a proposed Cultural Competence Action Plan has been halted as a result of ongoing litigation against several board members. Two board members have also been indicted on misdemeanor charges alleging violations to the Texas Open Meetings Act.

Family, friends and supporters of Bryan and Smith attended the meeting along with several students and parents who voiced their belief that the district needs a diversity plan. Bryan and Smith both campaigned in opposition to the proposed Cultural Competence Action Plan.