2 Frisco primary races heading to runoff election


Following Tuesday’s primary elections, two races on Frisco voters’ ballots will head to a runoff election May 22.

A runoff election occurs when no candidate in a race receives more than 50 percent of the vote. The top two vote-getters in each race advance to a runoff.

For the State Board of Education District 12 race, Laura Malone-Miller and Suzanne Smith will advance to a Democratic runoff election. Malone-Miller secured 26.33 percent of the vote, and Smith obtained 48.07 percent of the vote. District 12 represents Dallas and Collin counties.

For the Denton County district clerk race, David Trantham and Mark Yarbrough will be in a Republican runoff election. Trantham received 26.62 percent of the vote, and Yarbrough received 34.96 percent of the vote.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Lindsey Juarez
Lindsey has been involved in newspapers in some form since high school. She graduated magna cum laude from the University of Texas at Arlington in 2014 with a degree in Journalism. While attending UTA, she worked for The Shorthorn, the university's award-winning student newspaper. She was hired as Community Impact Newspaper's first Frisco reporter in 2014. Less than a year later, she took over as the editor of the Frisco edition. Since then, she has covered a variety of topics and issues important to the community, including the city's affordable housing shortage, the state's controversial A-F school accountability system and the city's "Bury the Lines" efforts.
Back to top