Eight candidates have filed to run for three open spots on Collin College’s board of trustees. Places 1, 2 and 3—all elected at large for six-year terms—will be on the May 6 ballot.

Three out of nine board positions are up for election. The winners of the upcoming election will serve until 2029.

The Collin College board of trustees, in tandem with college President Neil Matkin, legislates the college’s policy, budget and strategic direction.

Place 1

Incumbent Fred Moses is running for re-election, attempting to continue his administration on Place 1. Moses has lived in Collin County for 43 years and is the owner of Telecom Electric Supply Co., a Plano-based supply chain management organization.

Megan Wallace is also running for Place 1 on the board. Having resided in Collin County for 11 years, Wallace is a student, according to the candidate’s application to run.

Place 2

Incumbent Jay Saad, who serves as the board’s vice chair, is running for another term in Place 2. A Plano resident for 18 years, Saad has participated on local and state boards for the Texas Association of Business. Currently retired, Saad was previously vice president of sales at Cigna Healthcare and vice president of sales at UnitedHealth Group, he said.

Scott Coleman, the dean of academics for Harmony School of Innovation in Garland, who has lived in the county for 11 years, filed to run for Place 2. He formerly served as a social studies teacher, principal, district director of academics and human resources manager of the DFW Harmony district, Coleman said.

Collin College professor Philip Timmons is running for Place 2. Timmons has lived in the county for a decade and in Texas for 30 years, according to the candidate’s application.

Place 3

Place 3 incumbent Stacey Donald is running again. Donald worked previously as a faculty member in Collin College’s English Department but now is a professor and chair of Liberal Arts and Sciences at DeVry University, according to her information page on Collin College’s website. She has lived in Collin County for 13 years.

Cathie Alexander is another candidate running for Place 3. Now retired, Alexander used to work in higher education, according to her application. Alexander has lived in the county for 22 years.

Joe Minissale is running for Place 3. Minissale has lived in Collin County for 17 years and is a hospital president at Texas Health Center for Diagnostics and Surgery in Plano, according to his application.

To be eligible, candidates must be at least 18 years old, a qualified voter, a resident of Collin County for six continuous months and a resident of Texas for 12 continuous months prior to the filing deadline, which was Feb. 17. Finally, trustees have to be available for the board’s monthly meetings.

Board policies governing elections may be found in Collin County’s online manual and information about polling locations, hours and election procedures may be found there.

The last day to register to vote in the election is April 6. Early voting for the May 6 election will run from April 24 to May 2.