Editor's note: This story was updated to reflect Mayor Derek France has announced his intention to run again for mayor.

Flower Mound voters will elect a new Place 4 council member and vote on the mayor for the May election.

Applications are open for the May 4 general election ballot. Derek France, elected in 2021, is the current mayor. Jim Engle, first elected in 2018, holds the Place 4 seat. Council members and the mayor may only serve two three-year terms, so Engel is ineligible to run for reelection. France has announced his intention to run again.

The details

Candidates must meet the following requirements, according to a town news release:
  • Be a qualified/registered voter of the town
  • Be 21 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled or on the date of appointment
  • Have been a resident of the town for at least one year prior to election date
  • Hold no other public office except that of Notary Public or a member of the National Guard, military reserve or Coast Guard reserve
The background

Flower Mound Town Council Members serve three-year terms and are elected “at-large,” each representing the entire community.

People interested in running can request an application packet online, or pick up an application from the town secretary’s office at Flower Mound Town Hall from 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Completed applications for mayor and Town Council Place 4 must be filed by 5 p.m. Feb. 16, the release states.

Early voting runs April 22-30 for voters in Denton and Tarrant counties.