A number of applicants have filed for positions to represent Denton County in the March primaries.

In addition to presidential and statewide candidates, several county-level positions will be on the ballot March 5. Voters will have a chance to weigh in on which candidate will represent their political party in the November election.

The details

According to the Texas secretary of state office’s website, local elected positions and the individuals who filed and are in contested races are as follows:

Note: * denotes incumbent


Denton County tax assessor collector
  • Rob Altman II (Republican)
  • Dawn Waye (Republican)

State senator, District 30
  • Michael Braxton (Democrat)
  • Dale Frey (Democrat)
  • Matthew Mcghee (Democrat)
  • Cody Clark (Republican)
  • Carrie De Moor (Republican)
  • Brent Hagenbuch (Republican)
  • Jace Yarbrough (Republican)
Texas House representative, District 63
  • Michelle Beckley (Democrat)
  • Denise Wooten (Democrat)
  • Carlos E. Andino Jr. (Republican)
  • Ben Bumgarner (Republican)*
  • Vincent Gallo (Republican)
Texas House representative, District 65
  • Mitch Little (Republican)
  • Kronda Thimesch (Republican)*
Dates to know
  • Feb. 5: Last day to register to vote or change your address
  • Feb. 20: First day of early voting
  • March 1: Last day of early voting
  • March 5: Primary election day