Commissioners supply election funding, assuring Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District can appear on May ballot

Travis County Commissioners lifted the burn ban Tuesday.

Travis County Commissioners lifted the burn ban Tuesday.

Following an executive session and a week of deliberation, Travis County Commissioners voted Tuesday afternoon to cover the costs of an election to create a conservation district that would regulate, protect and conserve the county's groundwater supply derived from the Trinity Aquifer, one of nine major aquifers in the state.

In a Feb. 20 meeting, the group behind the Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District requested the county pay to hold a May election, which county officials estimated could cost between $365,000 and $544,000. The group also requested $5,000 to help get the district’s efforts underway.

On Tuesday afternoon, Ron Morgan, chief deputy county clerk, said due to the increase in the number of entities participating in the May election, the pro rata share to fund the election saw a significant decrease and is now estimated to cost between $180,000 and $200,000.

The county will cover the costs of the election as well as provide $5,000 for operational expenses, with the agreement that if the proposed district is approved by voters it will reimburse the county overtime for the costs of ratifying the election. The vote also included the continued support and advisory from county staff.

During the election, approximately 80,000 voters who live within the district's jurisdiction will have an opportunity to approve the district in a confirmation election. Residents will also vote to elect official directors to the district's governing board.

Originally filed by State Rep. Paul Workman, R-Austin, as failed House Bill 922 last year, the legislation creating the conservation district passed after being added to HB 4345. The session in 2017 was Workman’s third legislative attempt at establishing a district in the area.

The district was not given any state funding as part of HB 4345 to begin operations and is not allowed to collect operational fees until approved by local voters, according to legislation.


Austin City Council is considering an end to enforcement of low level marijuana possession laws. (SHELBY SAVAGE/COMMUNITY IMPACT NEWSPAPER)
Support grows among Austin City Council members who want to end local penalties for low-level marijuana possession

If successful, the Austin Police Department would no longer hand out arrests or citations for possession of marijuana with no intent to distribute.

Delays have pushed back completion of the much-anticipated Bee Creek Sports Complex to spring 2022. (Brian Rash/Community Impact Newspaper)
Utility and other hurdles delay Bee Creek Sports Complex

Though it was initially planned to be ready for play by 2020, delays pertaining to construction and, more specifically, to water service, have pushed the completion date of the much-anticipated Bee Creek Sports Complex to spring 2022.

zanjero park water
Travis County commissioners pursue easement to bring water to Las Lomitas subdivision

Travis County commissioners are working to address colonias—unincorporated areas in the county that lack basic utilities.

Austin Public Health is investigating a confirmed rubella case, the first case of the contagious viral infection in Travis County since 1999. (Courtesy Fotolia)
Austin Public Health confirms city’s first rubella case since 1999

Austin Public Health is investigating a confirmed rubella case, the first case of the contagious viral infection in Travis County since 1999.

Travis County commissioners will receive preliminary estimates for a new peace officer step pay scale at their Jan. 28 meeting. (Courtesy Travis County Sheriff's Office)
Travis County commissioners consider revisions to peace office pay

Travis County commissioners are considering options that will revise the pay scale for peace officers, including law enforcement, corrections and park rangers.

A photo of the exterior of Baylor Scott & White Medical Center-Austin.
Baylor Scott & White's Austin Medical Center opens in Oak Hill

Baylor Scott & White Medical Center-Austin opened its doors Jan. 15.

Texas oil and gas industry could see a major slowdown in 2020

The oil and natural gas industry paid a record-setting $16.3 billion in taxes and royalties to local governments and the state in 2019, the Texas Oil and Gas Association announced Tuesday.

A photo of a sign that reads "Visit Historic Dripping Springs."
Dripping Springs City Council tangles with parking solutions for historic downtown

Council members stressed the need for long-term downtown parking solutions at their Jan. 14 meeting.

Commuters arrive at downtown Austin's lone light rail stop. (Christopher Neely/Community Impact Newspaper)
With unveiling of 'transformational' transit proposal, support for urban rail grows among Austin leaders

Before voting on a multibillion-dollar bond referendum coming in November, the community will have to choose between an urban rail or bus transit system.

A photo of the facade of Hill Country Healing Haven.
New acupuncture clinic Hill Country Healing Haven open in Dripping Springs

A new center for acupuncture and wellness now operates in Dripping Springs.

Options in the Project Connect plan include adding light rail as well as expanding MetroRail, the commuter rail line in the region. (Amy Denney/Community Impact Newspaper)
Voters could decide in November how to fund an estimated $2.9B-$7.2B needed to expand transit in Austin area

Capital Metro, city of Austin officials are discussing financing options for expanding transit through Project Connect.

The Toney Burger Center in South Austin is one of the centralized Austin ISD facilities listed in the district's facilities master plan that could be renovated in the future. (Nicholas Cicale/Community Impact Newspaper)
Austin ISD Facilities Master Plan update focuses on portable reduction, changes to facilities

Austin ISD trustees will vote to approve an update to its Facilities Master Plan at its Jan. 27 meeting.

Back to top