The cities of San Marcos and Buda will hold runoff elections in December to determine the winners of four races that first appeared on the Nov. 8 ballot, and today is the last day for residents who have not registered to vote in either city to register in time to cast ballots.

“Today is the deadline,” Hays County Elections Administrator Joyce Cowan said. “If they were late registering last time, they are totally eligible [to register]. This is a new election. Whether you voted or were registered … you would be eligible as long as your registration is in the city of San Marcos [or city of Buda].”

Early voting will take place Nov. 28-Dec. 9, and election day is Dec. 13. Voting locations have not been determined in San Marcos, Cowan said, noting that results from the Nov. 8 election will not be made official until votes are canvassed Nov. 21.

San Marcos City Clerk Jamie Lee Case said the city will conduct early voting at the Hays County Government Center, 712 S. Stagecoach Trail, San Marcos, and at Hays County Health Department, 401 Broadway St., Ste. A, San Marcos. Election day polling locations and times have not been determined yet, Case said.

The city of Buda has announced its early voting polling location will be City Hall, 121 Main St., Buda, pending City Council approval. The schedule, which is subject to change, is as follows:

Nov. 28, 7 a.m.-7 p.m.
Nov. 29-Dec. 1, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Dec. 2, 8 a.m.-4 p.m.
Dec. 5, 7 a.m.-7 p.m.
Dec. 6-8, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Dec. 9, 8 a.m.-4 p.m.

An election day polling location in Buda has not been determined, a city representative said.

Candidates failed to receive at least 50 percent of votes in the races for San Marcos mayor, City Council Place 2 and City Council Place 3 as well as Buda City Council Place 1.

The following candidates will face off in runoff elections:

San Marcos mayor

Ruben Becerra
John Thomaides

In the Nov. 8 election, Becerra received 4,231 votes, or 34.5 percent of the total, and Thomaides received 3,903 votes or 31.82 percent of the total.

San Marcos Place 2

Saul Gonzales
Shane Scott

In the Nov. 8 election, Gonzales received 3,932 votes or 35.52 percent of the total, and Scott received 3,387 votes, or 30.6 percent.

San Marcos Place 3

Jason Dalton Montgomery
Ed Mihalkanin

In the Nov. 8 election, Montgomery received 2,730 votes, or 28.35 percent, and Mihalkanin received 2,724 votes, or 28.28 percent of the total.

Buda Place 1

Lee Urbanovsky
John Hatch

In the Nov. 8 election, Urbanovsky took 47.62 percent of the vote, with Hatch receiving 1,736 votes, or 43.88 percent.