Pflugerville City Council approved the appointment of its inaugural class of seven members to the Pflugerville Equity Commission on Nov. 10 following establishment of the commission July 14. The Pflugerville Equity Commission is designed to create "focused recommendations specific to Pflugerville related to equity and empowerment issues," per city documents.

The approved ordinance establishing the commission defined equity as the economic, political or social access granted to all residents, regardless of their race, ethnicity, religion, gender, sexual orientation, veteran status, disability or other forms of ability. City documents presented ahead of the commission's July establishment revealed Pflugerville is a majority-minority city, in which no racial or ethnic group comprises the majority of the city's population.

Pflugerville City Council unanimously approved the members to the commission on its consent agenda, meaning no further discussion was held prior to council vote.

Shawn Douglas, Elizabeth Guillory Medina, Donald Scott and Daisy Delgado Castillo were appointed to serve partial terms on the commission, ending Dec. 31, 2021. Autumn Arnett, James Matlock and Amy Hart will serve on the commission in partial terms ending Dec. 31, 2020.

All members whose terms end in December 2020 will automatically receive consideration for reappointment to a two-year term, beginning Jan. 1, 2021, and ending Dec. 31, 2022, per documents.

The commission's mission is defined as promoting equity for all residents as well as serving as a reflection of the various diversities among Pflugerville residents. Commission efforts to enhance equity and diversity initiatives include awareness efforts, programs and activities for community members.