Hutto ISD's eighth elementary school, slated to open next year, now has a name: Lee Martinez.

What you need to know

Trustees voted Feb. 22 to name the elementary school after Lee Martinez, a bus driver who served the district for over 20 years and was an active member of the Hutto community.

How we got here

Trustees presented the 10 most frequently suggested nominations made by community members in January, recognizing the following community members Feb. 8. They are listed in alphabetical order by last name:
  • Ray Gavit
  • Connie Gooding
  • Manuel & Lupe Herrera
  • Chris D. Kelley
  • Robert A. Ledbetter
  • Lee Martinez
  • Janiece Nelson
  • Adam Orgain
  • Bobby Rogers
  • Mary Ann Stern Whitfield
What else?

According to the district, a groundbreaking for the new facility is planned for this spring, and the campus is slated to open in time for the 2025-26 school year. It will be located adjacent to the Hutto 9th Grade Center, near Destiny Lane and FM 1660 North.