Hutto ISD trustees announced the top 10 names submitted by community members for a new elementary school during a Feb. 8 board workshop.

What you need to know

Trustees presented the 10 most frequently suggested nominations made by community members in January, recognizing the following community members. They are listed in alphabetical order by last name:
  • Ray Gavit
  • Connie Gooding
  • Manuel & Lupe Herrera
  • Chris D. Kelley
  • Robert A. Ledbetter
  • Lee Martinez
  • Janiece Nelson
  • Adam Orgain
  • Bobby Rogers
  • Mary Ann Stern Whitfield
What else?

According to the district, a groundbreaking for the new facility is planned for this spring, and the campus is slated to open in time for the 2025-26 school year. It will be located adjacent to the Hutto 9th Grade Center, near Destiny Lane and FM 1660 North.

The board will make a final decision on a name for Elementary School No. 8 on Feb. 22.