In November 2022, Williamson County voters will elect a county judge as well as commissioners for precincts 2 and 4, among other federal, statewide and local officeholders. However, in order for a candidate to appear on the Nov. 8 general election ballot, they must win the March 1 primary election.

Each of the Republican incumbents up for re-election drew one Republican primary challenger. Only one Democrat filed for a place on the ballot in each commissioners court race, and they will advance to the Nov. 8 general election. The filing period closed on Dec. 13 at 6 p.m.

Early voting for the March 1 primary will take place from Feb. 14-25. Voters have until Jan. 31 to register to vote.

Commissioners approved recently redrawn precinct maps in November, a process required following each decennial census. According to data from the U.S. Census Bureau, Williamson County grew 44% from 2010 to 609,017 residents in 2020.

The new Williamson County precinct map goes into effect on Jan. 1. (Courtesy Williamson County)

Below is a list of candidates for Williamson County Commissioners Court. For more election information, visit the Texas Secretary of State's website.

* Indicates incumbent

County judge

  • Ryan Gallagher (R)

  • Bill Gravell* (R)

  • Blane Conklin (D)

Precinct 2 commissioner

  • J.T. Cox (R)

  • Cynthia Long* (R)

  • Brigid Lester (D)

Precinct 4 commissioner

  • Russel Boles* (R)

  • Terri Romere (R)

  • Jose Orta (D)