New Pflugerville ISD trustee starts service on board

Pflugerville ISD building
New Pflugerville ISD trustee David Aguirre was sworn in for his term May 20. (Iain Oldman/Community Impact Newspaper)

New Pflugerville ISD trustee David Aguirre was sworn in for his term May 20. (Iain Oldman/Community Impact Newspaper)

The Pflugerville ISD board of trustees welcomed the newest member on its dais as David Aguirre began serving May 20, fresh off his tightly contested election campaign.

Aguirre was sworn in during a brief ceremony before the board of trustees’ regularly scheduled meeting May 20.

The May 20 meeting was the first time the PfISD board of trustees has met since it officially canvassed the results of the May 1 local elections. Those certified votes found Aguirre narrowly won over opponent Marc Garcia.

Across both Travis and Williamson counties, Aguirre collected 2,968 total votes while Garcia collected 2,965 total votes. Garcia had until the end of the day May 13 to file a petition for a recount with Travis and Williamson county election officials, but Garcia told Community Impact Newspaper on May 14 that he declined to file for a recount.

"It was a unique and historic election, and we thank everyone who participated," said Vernagene Mott, who serves on the PfISD board of trustees.

Aguirre, a retired store director for Target, replaced the outgoing Mary Kimmins on the PfISD board of trustees.

Kimmins had served as a trustee since winning election to the board in 2015. The former principal and educator first began working at PfISD in 1983, according to her biography on the PfISD website.

Trustee Tony Hanson was also sworn in on May 20 after winning an uncontested reelection campaign. Hanson has served on the board since 2017.

After swearing in the trustees to their new terms, the board elected its new officers. Trustee Renae Mitchell was elected president of the board by the other board members. Mitchell replaces Mott in this role on the board.

Hanson was elected vice president of the board and trustee Brian Allen was elected secretary of the board.
By Iain Oldman
Iain Oldman joined Community Impact Newspaper in 2017 after spending two years in Pittsburgh, Pa., where he covered Pittsburgh City Council. His byline has appeared in PublicSource, WESA-FM and Scranton-Times Tribune. Iain worked as the reporter for Community Impact Newspaper's flagship Round Rock/Pflugerville/Hutto edition and is now working as the editor for the Northwest Austin edition.


The Office of Police Oversight released its first comprehensive report detailing its operations though 2019 and 2020 this June. (Ben Thompson/Community Impact Newspaper)
Office of Police Oversight report finds complaints against Austin police officers went up, but discipline fell in 2020

The new report centers on the office's three main functions, including tracking APD officer discipline, reviewing the city's police policies, and engaging with Austin residents.

Volunteers of Austin Vaccine Angels gathered after becoming fully vaccinated. (Courtesy Jodi Holzband)
Grassroots groups aimed at vaccine outreach look toward the future

For the past five months, grassroots volunteer groups have been working to connect thousands of Central Texans to COVID-19 vaccines.

Round Rock ISD plans to spend about $9,265 per student for the 2021-22 fiscal year. (Courtesy Fotolia)
Round Rock ISD adopts FY 2021-22 budget with $17.2M deficit, says gap will be covered by staff turnover

District staff anticipate the deficit being covered with savings from staff turnover and unfilled positions.

Domain Northside
Westlake Dermatology to open Domain Northside clinic later this year

The local dermatology clinic chain will offer skin care treatments and more at this North Austin location.

Washington Prime Group Inc. owns six area shopping centers, including The Arboretum. (Courtesy The Arboretum)
Owner of Austin-area shopping centers files for bankruptcy; entertainment complex coming to Cedar Park and more top area news

Read the top business and community news from the past week from the Central Texas area.

The Pflugerville ISD board received an update regarding reducing utility costs during a June 17 meeting. (Iain Oldman/Community Impact Newspaper)
Pflugerville ISD moves to drastically reduce its utility costs

The district currently spends about $3.8 million in utility costs each year.

Photo of a woman and girl walking the trail with the Austin skyline behind them
Travis County commits to electrify fleet, doubles down on climate goals

Commissioners directed staff this week to develop a plan to fully electrify Travis County's fleet of vehicles, a leading source of greenhouse gas emissions for the county.

The Bloomhouse—an 1,100-square-foot home in the hills of West Austin—was built in the 1970s by University of Texas architecture students for fellow student Dalton Bloom. It was featured in the Austin Weird Homes Tour of 2020. (Brian Perdue/Community Impact Newspaper)
Austin Weird Homes Tour ends; Z’Tejas to close Arboretum restaurant and more Central Texas news

Read the latest business and community news from the Central Texas area.

Project Connect's proposed Orange Line will run from Tech Ridge, through downtown Austin and to Slaughter Lane. (Rendering courtesy Project Connect)
Project Connect Orange Line design reveals proposed locations for rail stations in North, South Austin

The latest Orange Line design shows potential elevated rail line over I-35, as well as options for the Drag.

Photo of a weird home
Austin's Weird Homes Tour says goodbye—for now

The tour's founders say they are open to a new local operator taking over the event.

The former hotel off I-35 had most recently been used as a COVID-19 homeless Protection Lodge. (Courtesy City of Austin)
East Cesar Chavez encampment residents move into former South Austin hotel

Through Austin's HEAL initiative, residents of an encampment near East Austin's Terrazas Branch Libarary were relocated to a South Austin shelter before that camp is cleared away.