Place 7 on the Pflugerville ISD board of trustees will see a new face for the first time in nearly a decade as incumbent Rob Reyes will not seek re-election this May.

Reyes has served on the board since 2011, most recently re-elected in 2017 after running an uncontested campaign.

The Place 7 seat will now be filled by either Charlie Torres or Cynthia Gee after the two filed for candidacy, according to the school district.

Torres has run for a seat on the PfISD board of trustees in the last three local elections, losing to Tony Hanson in 2017, Mary Kimmins in 2018 and Brian Allen in 2019.

Torres, a retired Pflugerville resident who spent three decades working for ATT, previously served 12 years on the Gregory-Portland ISD board of trustees.

Gee previously worked as an assistant superintendent from PfISD, retiring from the district after additionally serving as a principal at three separate elementary schools, according to the PfISD website.

The former assistant superintendent also served as executive director of elementary education for PfISD. Before joining PfISD, Gee held positions at Austin ISD, Del Valle ISD and Northeast ISD in San Antonio.

Place 6

Larry Bradley will look to retain his seat at Place 6 on the PfISD board this May. Bradley most recently won re-election in 2017 with 45.35% of the vote in Travis County, according to election returns.

Prior to serving as a trustee, Bradley served 28 years as principal of Pflugerville High School and two years as the director of student affairs for the district, according to the PfISD website.

Jean Mayer is challenging Bradley for his seat in the May 2 election. Mayer is self-employed as a skin care consultant and serves with Texas Parent to Parent, according to the candidate’s LinkedIn profile. Texas Parent to Parent is a nonprofit organization that is committed to improving the lives of Texas children who have disabilities, chronic illness, and/or special health care needs, according to the nonprofit’s website.

Early voting for the May 2 election begins April 20, with early voting ending April 28.