Southwestern University committee names 3 finalists for school president


A Southwestern University search committee has named three finalists to succeed President Jake Schrum after his retirement at the end of the 2012–13 school year.

The committee selected Edward Burger, a Francis Christopher Oakley Third Century professor of mathematics at Williams College in Williamstown, Mass.; Gregory Hess, dean of faculty, vice president for academic affairs and a James G. Boswell professor of economics at Claremont McKenna College in Claremont, Calif.; and Clarence Wyatt, a Pottinger professor of history, special assistant to the president, chief planning officer and consultant for college relations at Centre College in Danville, Ky.

The three candidates are scheduled to visit the university campus between Jan. 29 and Feb. 5, and the final selection could be announced in late February, Southwestern spokeswoman Ellen Davis said.

Schrum announced his retirement Aug. 23. He served as president of the university for nearly 13 years.

Share this story

Comments are closed.

Back to top