The city of New Braunfels welcomed a new mayor and District 5 council member during a regular meeting May 22.

Mayor-elect Neal Linnartz was sworn into office after Linnartz secured the win with 55.98% of the vote in the May 6 election.

“I do want to thank my family for being here tonight,” Linnartz said. “So thank you so much for coming out to be with me.”

Mary Ann Labowski was also sworn in to be council member of District 5 after obtaining 79.92% of the vote.

“I just want to thank everybody, for coming tonight and for your support,” Labowski said. “And I look forward to serving New Braunfels and being your voice.”

The city also recognized the public service rendered by Rusty Brockman as the former mayor of New Braunfels from May 2020 to May 2023.

“It has been an honor; I wouldn't trade the last 38 months for anything,” Brockman said. “I hope I left just a little bit of a mark someplace that made a difference because everyone that I just mentioned, from my family to the city family and those sitting behind me, have made a difference in my life.”

Former Council Member Jason Hurta was also recognized for his service as District 5 council member from May 2020 to May 2023.

“This has been a very humbling position to serve in. ... It has been fantastic,” Hurta said. “Just beginning with someone's vision and seeing it realized and everything that they go through to get to the end of it has been just interesting, and just very thought provoking.”

Council voted and approved the appointment of District 3 Council Member Harry Bowers to remain in the position of Mayor Pro Tem.