New Braunfels Independent School District has named their teacher of the year for each campus in the district.

“We have celebrated our extraordinary teachers with this honor for several decades,” said Rebecca Villarreal, the teacher of the year coordinator for NBISD, in a press release. “This recognition program gives us the opportunity to showcase the talented teachers we have in NBISD.”

According to the press release, selected individuals will be recognized at the NBISD March 16 board meeting and will be considered for the honor of NBISD Elementary or Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Honorees will advance to the regional competition with the hopes of eventually being named one of two Texas State Teachers of the Year, according to the Texas Education Agency’s website.

Those who will be honored at the meeting are as follows:

  • Carl Schurz Elementary School: Kaye Smith, third-grade dual language teacher

  • County Line Elementary School: Ann Kipes, special education teacher

  • Klein Road Elementary School: Nathan Novsek, physical education teacher/coach

  • Lamar Elementary School: Miranda Morgan, fifth-grade science teacher

  • Lone Star Elementary School: Terri Smith, preschool programs for children with disabilities teacher

  • Memorial Elementary School: Lauren Flores, kindergarten teacher

  • Seele Elementary School: Michelle Wisdom, librarian

  • Veramendi Elementary School: Melanie Bowen, librarian

  • Voss Farms Elementary School: Crystal Diaz, third-grade dual language teacher

  • Walnut Springs Elementary School: Monica Medina, third-grade teacher

  • New Braunfels Middle School: Matthew Proffitt, teen leadership/health/boys coach

  • Oak Run Middle School: Lauren Shelton, sixth-grade math teacher

  • Ninth Grade Center: Kari Cooper, biology teacher

  • New Braunfels High School: April Walker, English teacher