Updated 11:45 p.m. May 4

Council Member Na’Cole Thompson told Community Impact she will continue to prioritize water and other infrastructure projects in her next term. Additionally, she said she will focus on supporting public safety officials, ensuring the city has appropriate staffing levels, and continuing business and commercial development.

“I’m excited to get the serve the residents of Leander for another three years ... [and am] thankful for all the support and the voters who participated in this election,” Thompson said.

The Leander candidates for Place 2 and those advancing to the Place 6 runoff did not immediately respond to request for comment.

Updated 11 p.m. May 4

Both Williamson County and Travis County are reporting final, unofficial vote totals for the May 4 election, during which voters cast ballots for three races on Leander City Council.

These results show challenger Michael Herrera has beaten incumbent Esmeralda Mattke Longoria by a margin of four votes in the race for Place 4. Herrera received 50.05% of the vote, or 2,173 votes. Mattke Longoria, by comparison, received 2,169 votes.

Since the race is so close, Leander Mayor Christine DeLisle, who was re-elected to her seat on Council, told Community Impact a recount of the votes in the race should be expected. She said the deadline for mail in ballots has not yet passed and those will need to be counted. If the race is still close after those are included, Longoria will then need to file paperwork, pay a fee and coordinate with the counties on the process of recounting the votes.

Incumbent Na’Cole Thompson has successfully defended her Place 4 seat, beating challenger Monica Roussel-Methena. Thompson received 52.56% of the vote, or 2,255 votes, to Roussel-Methena’s 2,035 votes.

In the three-way race for Place 6, incumbent Becki Ross and Pulla Reddy Yeduru will advance to a runoff with 45%—or 1,924 votes—and 39.08%—or 1,671 votes, respectively. They led Anna Yelaun, who received 15.93% of the vote, or 681 votes.

The runoff election will be held June 15, with early voting running from June 3-11, city officials said.

All results are unofficial until canvassed. Leander City Council will canvass the votes on or before May 15, officials said.

Visit Community Impact’s voter guide to find results for all local races.

Posted 8 p.m. May 4

Leander voters cast ballots in three City Council races during the May 4 election.

With both Williamson County and Travis County reporting early voting results, the incumbents—Esmeralda Mattke Longoria, Na’Cole Thompson and Becki Ross—have narrow leads.

The breakdown

In the Place 2 race, Mattke Longoria has received 50.05% of the vote, or 1,411. She leads challenger Michael Herrera by three votes.

In the Place 4 race, Thompson has garnered 52.76% of the vote, or 1,472 votes, leading Monica Roussel-Methena, who has 47.24% of the vote, or 1,318 votes.

Ross leads the field of three candidates for the Place 6 race with 46.34% of the vote, or 1,291 votes. Challengers Pulla Reddy Yeduru and Anna Yelaun have received 38.37% and 15.29% of the vote, respectively.

If no candidate receives more than 50% of the vote in the Place 6 race, it will go to a runoff.

Leander City Council members are elected at large, meaning each member represents the entire city, and all registered voters in the city can cast a ballot for each position.

Moving forward

This article will be updated as election day vote totals are released. All results are unofficial until canvassed.

Visit Community Impact’s voter guide to find results for all local races, including those for the Leander mayor race.