New Leander City Council members sworn into office


New Leander City Council members were sworn in for Places 1, 3 and 5 at a meeting May 16, following the May 4 election.

All votes from the Leander City Council election were canvassed, or made official, May 15.

Kathryn Pantalion-Parker was elected to Place 1. Jason Shaw was elected to Place 3. Chris Czernek was elected to Place 5.

Edna Staudt, justice of the peace for Precinct 2 in Williamson County, administered the oath of office for the new council members.

“I enjoy so much tonight the freedom that we have to elect our own leaders,” Staudt said. “It is a freedom that does not come without a cost. It cost our forefathers their lives, their families and a lot of blood sweat and tears in order for us to have these freedoms. We need to hold them very dear close to our hearts.”

Share this story
1 comment

Leave A Reply

Marisa Charpentier
Marisa Charpentier joined Community Impact in September 2018. After working as an intern, she became a reporter for the Cedar Park | Leander edition in October 2018. Charpentier graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with degrees in journalism and Plan II Honors.
Back to top