Editor's note: This article has been updated to correct Matt Sherman's first name

Lakeway City Council members Matt Sherman, Jennifer Szimanski and Kelly Brynteson were sworn in May 20 following the May 4 elections.

What else?

At the May 20 meeting, Lakeway City Council members said goodbye to Mayor Pro Tem Louis Mastrangelo, who has served on the dais for over five years and did not seek re-election.

Mastrangelo will become chair of the Lakeway Zoning and Planning Commission, or ZAPCO, where he first began his tenure with the city in 2018.

"Thank you very much, on behalf of the city of Lakeway, for all of your service, your good wit and your charm," said Mayor Thomas Kilgore, who awarded Mastrangelo with a certificate of perfect attendance for never missing a council meeting.

Council member Gretchen Vance will replace Mastrangelo as mayor pro tem for 2024-25.

The details

Both Brynteson and Szimanski were first elected onto council in 2022 and are serving their second terms.

Sherman, on the other hand, is serving his first term on council, bringing his experience as a commissioner for ZAPCO.

Sherman identified his campaign goals in a Q&A with Community Impact.

What's next?

Lakeway City Council has six members alongside the mayor. Council members serve two-year terms, and three are up for election each year.

The May 2025 election will have the mayor and three council seats up for a vote.