Elizabeth McFarland, Andy Webb sworn in as Georgetown ISD trustees


Three trustees were sworn in to the Georgetown ISD board May 20.

Place 2 trustee Elizabeth McFarland and Place 3 trustee Andy Webb received more votes than their opponents, Brian Ortego and Jennifer Wood, respectively, during the May 4 election. McFarland received 71.9% of the vote, and Webb received 51.6% of the vote, according to election results.

Place 1 trustee Scott Stribling, who served as board president, ran unopposed.

The board also voted in new cabinet members.

Stribling was re-elected as board president, Webb was elected as board vice president, and Melanie Dunham was re-elected as secretary. Trustees will serve in this capacity for one year and may be re-elected the following year.

Trustees are part of a seven-member board and are responsible for governing the district through adopting policies and regulations. They serve three-year terms.

“Thank you as always for your willingness to serve,” GISD Superintendent Fred Brent said. “Thank you for volunteering your time—I know you give a lot of it—and for serving our community.”

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Ali Linan
Ali Linan began covering Georgetown for Community Impact Newspaper in 2018. Her reporting focuses on education and Williamson County. Ali hails from El Paso and graduated from Syracuse University in 2017.
Back to top