UPDATE: The story has been updated to include the exact portion of the RM 620 project completion.

New members of Williamson County Historic Commission were appointed during the Williamson County Commissioners Court meeting Tuesday.

The court voted to appoint nine new members and one ad hoc member to the commission.

Historical Commission Chairperson Eloise Brackenridge said she was impressed with the candidates the court presented to the committee and decided to accept all 10 applicants to the commission.

“Each of these people are outstanding, Brackenridge said. "They have a lot to contribute to the historical commission."

The new commissioners are as follows:

  • Tina Steiner-Johnson from Round Rock

  • Jane DiGesualdo from Round Rock

  • Michael McCloskey from Round Rock

  • John Harkan from Round Rock

  • Rachel Arnold from Leander

  • Kelly Clark from Cedar Park

  • Mike Fowler from Hutto

  • Jan Raesz from Circleville

  • Joe Burgess from Taylor

  • Gary Hudder from Round Rock (ad hoc member)

The commission is responsible for preserving county history as well as taking care of area cemeteries. The historical commission meets on the second Thursday of every month

Other business from commissioners court

RM 620 project and the new county sheriff’s training center to be completed

The Department of Infrastructure will be celebrating the completion and opening of the new sheriff’s department training center. Ground first broke for the center in January 2017 and will feature classrooms, office space for recruiting and instructors, and training rooms for defensive tactics, driving simulations and officer fitness.

The ribbon cutting ceremony will be held July 19 at 8160 Chandler Road, Hutto at 1:30 p.m.

There will be a second ribbon cutting ceremony for the completion of the RM 620 Project in Round Rock. The project provides primary access to the southern Lake Travis area of Travis County and the southernmost tip of Williamson County. The road has major intersections with SH 71, RM 2222, US 183, FM 734, SH 45 North and I-35, according to the Texas Department of Transportation.

The ceremony will be held on July 23 at 1880 Round Rock Ave., Round Rock at 9:30 a.m.

“The county has committed tremendous resources over the last decade to make improvements to 620, and I think it has dramatically improved the safety for the citizens,” said Robert Daigh, senior director of infrastructure.