Cedar Park has officially called a May 1 election for three council member seats.

Place 3 Council Member Anne Duffy and Place 5 Council Member Rodney Robinson have each filed for their current seats. Jim Penniman-Morin, who previously ran for Place 4 in November 2020, has filed to run for Place 1. No other candidates have filed as of Jan. 28. Place 1 Council Member Tim Kelly has previously said at City Council meetings that he will not run for re-election.

The filing period is now open, and the deadline to file for a place on the ballot is Feb. 12 at 5 p.m.

City Council also ordered a special-called election for five city charter propositions to the ballot that would affect council term lengths, city manager authority, council vacancies, executive session confidentiality and resignation upon filing for a different public office. A public hearing and first reading of the amendments was held Jan. 14.

Approved ballot language can be read in the Jan. 28 City Council agenda.

Two agreements with Travis County and Williamson County for election services were approved at City Council's Jan. 28 meeting. Per city documents, there are about 5,009 registered Cedar Park voters in Travis County and 41,119 in Williamson County.

Here are five May election dates to know.

  • April 1: last day to register to vote

  • April 19: first day of early voting

  • April 20: last day to apply for ballot by mail (received, not postmarked)

  • April 27: last day of early voting

  • May 1: election day