All three races in the upcoming Cedar Park City Council election May 6 are now unopposed.

The only contested race was for Place 1, which is held by Council Member Stephen Thomas, who is not seeking re-election. Justin O'Brien and Bobbi Hutchinson were the only two candidates running for Place 1 seat.

O’Brien withdrew from the race, leaving Hutchison to run unopposed. O’Brien said he dropped from the race because of two family emergencies occurring soon after he submitted an application for election.

“It put me behind on my preparations for my campaign,” he said in an email to Community Impact. “If the same personal issues arose [a] week earlier in the year, I would not have ran.”

O’Brien does have plans to run again in the future.

Hutchinson will be the only candidate running for Place 1, and incumbents Anne Duffy and Kevin Harris are also running unopposed for Place 3 and Place 5, respectively.

The last day to register to vote in the upcoming election is April 6. Early voting will run from April 24 to May 2. Election day is May 6. Click here for more information on the upcoming Cedar Park City Council election.