Williamson County voters will have the opportunity to cast ballots for candidates at the federal, state, and county levels during the March 5 primary election.

Texas is an open primary state, meaning registered voters can cast a ballot in either the Republican or Democratic primary. Voters do not need to register with a specific party.

The primary election results will determine who will be on the ballot in the November general election.

“Primary elections are an opportunity for Texans to weigh in on who will be the candidates for the Republican and Democratic parties on the ballot in November,” Texas Secretary of State Jane Nelson said in a news release. “Texans who wish to participate in the primary elections will need to indicate which primary in which they want to vote.”

For more information on what to expect at the polls, click here.

By the numbers

Out of the 426,549 registered voters in Williamson County, a total of 44,640 participated in early voting.

According to early voting data from the county, 13,586 voters have participated in the Democratic primary, while the Republican primary has seen 31,054 voters.

For context, during the last primary election in 2020, a total of 105,361 people voted—including both early voters and those who voted on election day—out of the 353,454 registered voters in the county.

Where to vote

Voters in Williamson County may cast a ballot at any polling location during early voting and on election day. Visit Williamson County’s polling location website to see a full list of where to vote on election day.

Residents can find voter registration and additional polling location information here.

Up for election

Community Impact has compiled this year’s federal, state and county candidates who will be appearing on the March 5 primary ballot for voters in Williamson County.

Only candidates in contested elections are included below. Visit the Texas Secretary of State website for a comprehensive list of federal, state and county candidate filings.

(I) indicates incumbents

Williamson County

County commissioner, Precinct 3

Republican candidates
  • Valerie Covey (I)
  • Mitch Slaymaker
County constable, Precinct 3

Republican candidates
  • Bert Witcher
  • Kevin Wilkie
  • Deke G. Pierce
County constable, Precinct 4

Democratic candidates
  • Perry Travis
  • Kenneth Guerrero
County chair

Republican candidates
  • Michelle Evans
  • Michael Salvo

Railroad commissioner

Republican candidates
  • Christi Craddick (I)
  • Petra Reyes
  • Corey Howell
  • Christie Clark
  • James “Jim” Matlock
Democratic candidates
  • Bill Burch
  • Katherine Culbert
State Board of Education, District 10

Republican candidates
  • Mary Bone
  • DC Caldwell
  • Tom Maynard (I)
Democratic candidates
  • Raquel Saenz Ortiz
  • DC Caldwell
State representative, District 20

Republican candidates
  • Elva Janine Chapa
  • Terry M. Wilson (I)
State representative, District 52

Democratic candidates
  • Jennie Birkholz
  • Angel Carroll
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 2

Democratic candidates
  • Randy Sarosdy
  • Dasean Jones
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4

Republican candidates
  • Brian Walker
  • John Devine (I)
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6

Democratic candidates
  • Joe Pool
  • Bonnie Lee Goldstein
Presiding judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

Republican candidates
  • Sharon Keller (I)
  • David J. Schenck
Judge, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 2

Democratic candidates
  • Maggie Ellis
  • Edward Smith(I)
  • Melissa Lorber
Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 5

Democratic candidates
  • Thomas J. Baker (I)
  • Karin Crump
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 7

Republican candidates
  • Barbara Parker Hervey (I)
  • Gina Parker
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8

Republican candidates
  • Lee Finley
  • Michelle Slaughter (I)
Additionally, voters in the Republican primary can weigh in on 13 propositions that will shape the party platform.


United States president

Republican candidates
  • Chris Christie
  • Asa Hutchinson
  • Ryan L. Binkley
  • Vivek Ramaswamy
  • Nikki Haley
  • Donald J. Trump
  • David Stuckenberg
  • Ron DeSantis
Democratic candidates
  • Gabriel A. Cornejo
  • Joseph R. Biden Jr. (I)
  • Marianne Williamson
  • Star Locke
  • Cenk Uygur
  • Armando “Mando” Perez-Serrato
  • Dean Philips
  • Frankie Lozada
United States senator

Republican candidates
  • Ted Cruz (I)
  • R.E. “Rufus” Lopez
  • Holland “Redd” Gibson
Democratic candidates
  • Mark Gonzalez
  • Steven J. Keough
  • Roland Gutierrez
  • Heli Rodriguez Prilliman
  • Theirry Tchenko
  • Carl Oscar Sherman
  • Meri Gomez
  • Colin Alfred
  • “Robert” Hassan
United States representative, District 10

Republican candidates
  • Michael T. McCaul (I)
  • Jared B. Lovelace
Democratic candidates
  • Theresa Boisseau
  • Keith McPhail
United States representative, District 17

Republican candidates
  • Pete Sessions (I)
  • Joseph T. Langone
United States representative, District 31

Republican candidates
  • William Abel
  • John Carnan Anderson
  • John Carter (I)
  • Abhiram Garapati
  • Mack Latimer
  • Mike Williams
Democratic candidates
  • Rick Von Pfeil
  • Brian Walbridge
  • Stuart Whitlow
United States representative, District 37

Democratic candidates
  • Lloyd Doggett (I)
  • Eduardo “Lalito” Romero
  • Christopher “Chris” McNerney
Editor's note: DC Caldwell, who filed his candidacy in both the Republican and Democratic primaries, would be ineligible for the general election if he were to win either primary race.