With the release of the 2020 Census Data in late 2021, cities have seen population and demographic changes which reflect the growth over the last 10 years.

Alongside an increase in population comes an increase in spending with each city within the metrocom area having more than $13 million in budget expenditures for the 2021-22 budgets.

Population Changes

Since 2010, population numbers have rapidly increased, especially in Cibolo which more than doubled their population between the 2010 and 2020 census.

The data shows that Universal City and Live Oak comparatively have grown slower than surrounding cities.

Local Demographics

Listed in the graph below are the breakdowns in population demographics between each city.

White and Hispanic or Latino populations make up the majority of the city demographics, with Live Oak and Selma having a larger Hispanic or Latino population than the surrounding cities.

Community Facts

Each of the metrocom cities were founded in the latter half of the 1900s, and have since changed in size and budget capabilities.

City elected officials


The Mayor of Schertz is Ralph Gutierrez, and the Schertz City Council consists of
Place 1 Councilmember Mark E. Davis, Place 2 Councilmember Rosemary Scott, Place 3 Councilmember Jill Whittaker, Place 4 Councilmember Michael Dahle, Place 5 Councilmember David L. Scagliola, Place 6 Councilmember Allison Heyward and Place 7 Councilmember Tim Brown.


Stosh Boyle is the Mayor of Cibolo and the Cibolo City Council consists of District 1 Councilmember Jennifer Schultes, District 2 Councilmember Steve Quinn, District 3 Councilmember Reggie Bone, District 4 Councilmember Ted Gibbs, District 5 Councilmember Mark Allen, District 6 Councilmember Tim Woliver and District 7 Councilmember Joel Hicks.

Universal City

The Mayor of Universal City is John Williams, and City Council Members are Mayor Pro Tem Richard "Dick" Neville, Councilmember Tom Maxwell, Councilmember Paul Najarian, Councilmember William Shelby, Councilmember Bear Goolsby and Councilmember Beverly Volle.

Live Oak

The Live Oak Mayor is Mary M. Dennis and the Live Oak City Council consists of Mayor Pro-Tem/Councilman Ed Cimics, Councilman Aaron Dahl, Councilman Mendell D. Morgan Jr., Councilwoman Dr. Erin Perez and Councilman Robert Tullgren.


Tom Daly is the Mayor of Selma and the City Council includes Councilmember Place 2 Noah Washington Jr., Councilmember Place 3 Becky Harris, Councilmember Place 4 Kevin Hadas, Councilmember Place 5 Jim Parma and Councilmember Place 6 Ken Polasek

School District Elected Officials

Jeanette Ball is Superintendent of Schools for Judson ISD. School Board members include Renée A. Paschall, President and District 6 At-large Rep, Suzanne Kenoyer, Vice President and Single Member District 1 Rep, Jennifer Rodríguez, Secretary and Single Member District 5 Rep, Single Member District 2 Rep Shatonya King, Single Member District 3 Rep Debra Eaton, Single Member District 4 Rep Jose Macias and District 7 At-Large Rep Rafael Diaz Martinez, Jr.

Clark Ealy is Superintendent of Schools for Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD. The Board of Trustees consists of Board President Gerald Perkins - Place 1, Board Vice President Edward Finley - Place 4, Board Secretary Letticia Sever - Place 3, Board Assistant Secretary Belinda Evans- Place 7, Trustee Amy M. Thomas - Place 5, Trustee Dan Swart - Place 6 and Trustee Robert M. Westbrook - Place 2.

Andrew Kim is Superintendent of Comal ISD. The Board of Trustees includes Board President Jason York, Board Vice President Michelle Rossl, Secretary Tim Hennessee, Treasurer Marty Bartlett, Trustee Courtney Biasatti, Trustee Russell Garner and Trustee Cody Mueller.

Helpful Resources

City of Schertz

1400 Schertz Parkway

Schertz, Texas 78154

Hours: Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

City of Schertz 210-619-1000

Mayor & Council 210-619-1030

City Management 210-619-1000

City Secretary 210-619-1030

Economic Development Corporation 210-619-1070

Emergency Medical Services 210-619-1400

Fire Department 210-619-1300

Historical Preservation Committee 210-619-1030

Library 210-619-1700

Municipal Court 210-619-1500

Parks, Recreation & Community Services 210-619-1850

City of Cibolo

200 South Main Street

Cibolo, TX 78108

Phone: 210-658-9900

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8 am to 5 pm

Animal Services 210-659-4851

City Manager 210-658-9900, ext. 3103

City Secretary 210-658-9900, ext. 3111

Code Enforcement 210-658-4175

Economic Development 210-658-9900

Fire Department 210-658-9900

Fire Station 210-858-3297

Police Department 210-659-1999

Records Division 210-659-1999

Community Services 210-659-1999

Public Works 210-658-9900

Utilities - Water & Wastewater Drainage 210-658-9900

Utility Billing 210-658-9900

Universal City

2150 Universal City Boulevard

Universal City, TX 78148

Phone: 210-659-0333

Fax: 210-659-7062

Administration 210-659-0333

Animal Care & Control 210-658-0700

Economic/Business Development 210-659-0333 ext 701

Elected Officials 210-659-0333

Fire Department 210-659-0333

Library 210-659-7048

Court 210-659-0333 Opt 1

Public Works 210-658-5364

Police Department 210-658-5353

Utilities Administration 210-659-0333 Opt 2

City of Live Oak

8001 Shin Oak Dr

Live Oak, TX 78233

Phone: 210-653-9140

Administration 210-653-9140

Animal Care and Control 210-653-9140 ext 2398

Development Services 210-653-9140 ext 2244

Fire Department Administration 210-653-9140 ext 2241

Parks and Recreation 210-653-9140 ext 2235

Police Department 210-653-0033

Public Works 210-653-9140 ext 2224

Utility 210-653-9140 ext 2220

City of Selma

9375 Corporate Drive

Selma, TX 78154

Phone: 210-651-6661

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8 am to 5 pm

Animal Control 210-651-7868

Economic Development 210-651-7858

Municipal Court 210-651-6661

Police Department 210-651-5368

Public Works 210-651-7840