Early voting began early April 22 ahead of May 4 municipal and district elections around Texas, including North East ISD school board races in the north San Antonio area.

Current situation

Contested elections face NEISD voters in Single-Member Districts 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6. The winners in Districts 1, 4, 5 and 6 will be awarded a four-year term in office.

The victor in District 2 will replace the late Terri Williams, who died in fall 2023 while serving the first year of her four-year term, which she won in a re-election in 2022.

Also of note

Shavano Park voters will be asked to reauthorize a 0.25% sales tax to continue funding the city’s crime control and prevention district.

Additionally, Shavano Park voters will see three unopposed City Council candidates on the ballot.

Because Shavano Park has an at-large council, where there are no specific district or place positions, and because only three candidates can be chosen in this year’s election, the incumbents who filed for a ballot spot will be declared re-elected: Maggi Kautz, Konrad Kuykendall and Lee Powers.

Early voting polling sites are open April 22-25, from 8 a.m.-6 p.m.; April 27, 29 and 30, from 8 a.m.-8 p.m.; and April 28, from noon-6 p.m. Polls on Election Day will be open 7 a.m.-7 p.m.