Updated 10 a.m. March 6

U.S. Rep. Tony Gonzales and challenger Brandon Herrera are headed for a May 28 election runoff to determine the Republican primary winner for Congressional District 23.

What happened

Unofficial state elections totals indicated Gonzales led the way in the GOP primary with 45% of the vote, followed by Herrera, an entrepreneur, with 24.6%.

According to state election rules, because neither Gonzales nor Herrera claimed 50% of the vote, they will be forced into a runoff.

Dig deeper

The GOP primary runoff winner will meet the Democratic primary winner Santos Limon, an engineer and small business owner, who tallied 58.6% of the vote vs. Lee Bausinger.

Updated 11 p.m. March 5

State election data showed District 23 U.S. Rep. Tony Gonzales unable to yet claim an outright win in the March 5 Republican primary.

Current situation

According to state election totals, with 45% of polling locations reporting results, Gonzales, R-San Antonio, had 45.3% of the vote—short of the 50% threshold required to avoid an election runoff. Entrepreneur Brandon Herrera was in second place with 23% of the vote, followed by Julie Clark, Frank Lopez Jr. and Victor Avila.

Dig deeper

The winner of the Republican primary will advance to the November general election and face the Democratic primary winner. Santos Limon was leading the two-way Democratic race with 58.7% over Lee Bausinger.

Posted 7:45 p.m. March 5

Unofficial Bexar County elections early voting totals showed incumbent U.S. Rep. Tony Gonzales, R-San Antonio, with a firm lead over his challengers in the Republican primary for Congressional District 23.

Current situation

According to county data at 7:30 p.m., Gonzales had 50.1% of the vote, leading Brandon Herrera, Julie Clark, Frank Lopez Jr. and Victor Avila.

Dig deeper

The GOP primary winner will meet the winner of the Democratic primary in the November general election. County totals showed Lee Bausingerl leading Santos Lemon in the Democratic primary with 58.7% of the total early vote.

Visit communityimpact.com/voter-guide/election-results to see results from all local elections in your community.