With 229 of 302 voting centers counted on Nov. 8, Bexar County elections data showed Democrat Peter Sakai winning the Bexar County judge’s race with 57.7% of the vote, according to unofficial results.

A former district judge, Sakai outlasted Republican Trish DeBerry, a former Precinct 3 county commissioner, who had 39% of the vote as of press time. DeBerry conceded the race not long after early voting totals were released by the county.

Libertarian Edgar Coyle had 3.2% in the county judge’s contest, county election data showed.

Sakai, on the campaign trail, said he sought to exhibit consensus-building skills he had developed as a district judge, and made education, workforce development, infrastructure, housing, public health and safety, and judicial system reform his top priorities.

Sakai will succeed Nelson Wolff, who is retiring after 21-plus years as county judge and capping a public service career that dates back to the mid-1970s.

Republican Grant Moody, a Valero Energy Corp. executive and a former U.S. Marines Corps pilot, won the Precinct 3 county commissioners seat, replacing DeBerry, who by state law was forced to give up the north Bexar County post to run for county judge.

According to unofficial results, Moody had 53.6% of the vote over Democrat and small business owner Susan Korbel and her 46.4%. Moody will fill DeBerry’s unexpired commissioners court term, which ends in 2024.

Bexar County Criminal District Attorney Joe Gonzales, a Democrat, won a second term with 56.4% of the vote versus Republican challenger Marc LaHood, who collected 43.5%, according to unofficial results.