Ballots finalized for May 6 elections in Round Rock, Hutto

City elections take place May 6 in Round Rock and Hutto.

City elections take place May 6 in Round Rock and Hutto.

Several candidates beat the Friday deadline to file for the May 6 elections in Round Rock and Hutto.

In Round Rock, three candidates will vie for the mayor position. Current Mayor Alan McGraw announced he would not seek re-election, opening the door for current Mayor Pro Tem and attorney Craig Morgan, Cedar Ridge High School senior Josh Couture and project manager Hilda Montgomery to run for the position.

For Round Rock City Council Place 1, local banker Hollis Bone, Realtor Tammy Young and facilities coordinator Matthew Carothers will challenge for the position Morgan is leaving to run for mayor. City Council Place 4 incumbent Will Peckham, a travel agent, will face artist Tracie Storie.

In Hutto, the city will conduct an election for the City Council Place 1 and Place 4 positions.

In Place 1, incumbent Anne Cano will not run for re-election. Networking technical sales representative Steven Harris will face educator Dana Wilcott and firefighter Scott Rose. In Place 4, account manager Tim Jordan will challenge incumbent Michael Smith, a recruiter.

Hutto voters will also have nearly two dozen proposed charter amendments on the ballot.

Round Rock ISD will have a bond issue on the ballot.
By Joe Warner
Joe Warner is executive editor of Community Impact Newspaper. He previously served as managing editor for Central Texas and senior editor of the flagship Round Rock, Pflugerville and Hutto newspaper. He came to Central Texas from Metro Detroit, where he was editor and general manager of several daily and weekly publications. He is the former president of the Michigan Press Association and was on the MPA board of directors for nine years.