If you live in Southwest Austin, here are the races you can expect to see on your ballot. Early voting begins Oct. 24 and Election Day is Nov. 8.

Presidential and vice presidential candidates

Hillary Clinton
Tim Kaine

Donald Trump
Mike Pence

Gary Johnson
William Weld

Green Party
Jill Stein
Ajamu Baraka

U.S. House

Texas District 21
Lamar Smith, R*
Tom Wakely, D
Mark Loewe, L
Antonio “Tony” Diaz, G

Texas District 25
Roger Williams, R*
Kathi Thomas, D
Loren Marc Schneiderman, L

Texas Senate

State senators are elected serve four-year terms.

Texas District 21
Judith Zaffirini, D
Texas District 24
Dawn Buckingham, R
Virginia “Jennie Lou” Leeder, D

Texas House

State House representatives are elected to serve two-year terms.

Texas District 47
Paul Workman*, R
Ana Jordan, D
Scott G. McKinlay, L

Texas District 48
Donna Howard*, D
Ben Easton, L

Texas District 49
Gina Hinojosa, D
Rick Perkins, L

Texas District 51
Eddie Rodriguez*, D
katija “kat” gruene, G


Texas Railroad Commissioner
Railroad commissioners are elected to six-year terms.
Wayne Christian, R
Grady Yarbrough, D
Mark Miller, L
Martina Salinas, G

State Board of Education
Education commissioners are elected to four-year terms.
State Board of Education, District 5
Ken Mercer, R
Rebecca Bell-Metereau, D
Ricardo Perkins, L

Supreme Court of Texas
State justices are elected to six-year terms.

Texas Supreme Court, Place 3
Debra Lehrmann*, R
Mike Westergren, D
Kathie Glass, L
Rodolfo Rivera Munoz, G

Texas Supreme Court, Place 9
Eva Guzman*, R
Savannah Robinson, D
Don Fulton, L
Jim Chisolm, G

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
Appeals court justices are elected to six-year terms.

3rd Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2, Unexpired Term
Cindy Olson Bourland, R
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals Presiding Judge, Place 2
Mary Lou Keel, R
Lawrence “Larry” Meyers, D
Mark Ash, L
Adam King Blackwell Reposa, G

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals Presiding Judge, Place 5
Scott Walker, R
Betsy Johnson, D
William Bryan Strange III, L
Judith Sanders-Castro, G

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals Presiding Judge, Place 6
Michael E. Keasler*, R
Robert Burns, D
Mark W. Bennett, L
3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 4
Melissa Goodwin, R

Travis County

District judge, 53rd Judicial District
Scott Jenkins*, D

District judge, 98th Judicial District
Rhonda Hurley*, D

District judge, 167th Judicial District
P. David Wahlberg*, D

District judge, 200th Judicial District
Gisela D. Triana*, D

District judge, 345th Judicial District
Jan Soifer, D

District Judge, 353rd Judicial District
Tim Sulak*, D

District Judge, 390th Judicial District
Julie Kocurek*, D

District Judge, 427th Judicial District
Tamara Needles, D

District Judge, 450th Judicial District
Brad Urrutia, D

District attorney
Maura Phelan, R
Margaret Moore, D

Judge, County Court at Law No. 8
Carlos H. Barrera, D

Judge, County Court at Law No. 9
Kim Williams, D

County attorney
David Escamilla, D

Joe G. Martinez, R
Sally Hernandez, D
Eric Guerra, L
Debbie Russell, G

Tax assessor-collector
Bruce Elfant*, D
Steven Haskett, L

County Commissioner, Precinct 3
Gerald Daugherty, R
David Holmes, D

Constable, Precinct 3
Stacy Suits, D
Constable, Precinct 4
George Morales III, D

Directors, Tanglewood Forest Limited District

Toni Logan
Enrique Alvarez
Ron G. Peterson
Catherine Rockwell
Bonnie S. McCalister
Warren T. Faulkner
Chris Battaglia

Austin Community College District

Trustee, Place 4
George Robinson
Sean Hassan
Michael J. Lewis

Trustee, Place 5
Thomas Miranda
Nicole Eversmann
Anthony Schoggins

Trustee, Place 6
Douglas Gibbins
Nora De Hoyos Comstock

Trustee, Place 9
Guadalupe “Lupe” Sosa
Mitch Fuller
Julie Ann Nitsch
Jeremy Story

Austin ISD board of trustees

Trustee, Place 2
Adolphus “Andy” Anderson
Jayme Mathias

Trustee, Place 3
Ann Teich

Trustee, Place 5
Amber Elenz
Trustee, Place 7
Yasmin Wagner

Trustee, Place 8 (At large)
David Ryan Quintanilla
Cindy Anderson

City of Austin

Council, District 2
Casey Ramos
Wesley Faulkner
Delia Garza*

Bond election
The issuance of $720,000,000 transportation and mobility improvement bonds and notes for improvements to Loop 360 corridor, Spicewood Springs Road, Old Bee Caves Road Bridge, Anderson Mill Road, intersection of RM 620 and RM 2222, Parmer Lane, North Lamar Boulevard, Burnet Road, Airport Boulevard, East Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard/FM 969, South Lamar Boulevard, East Riverside Drive, Guadalupe Street, Slaughter Lane, William Cannon Drive, Rundberg Lane, East Colony Park Loop Road, South Congress Avenue, Manchaca and South Pleasant Valley Road; sidewalks, Safe Routes to School, urban trails, bikeways, fatality reduction strategies, and the following local mobility substandard streets/capital renewal projects: Falwell Lane, William Cannon Overpass Bridge, FM 1626, Cooper Lane, Ross Road, Circle S Road, Rutledge Spur, Davis Lane, Latta Drive/Brush Country, Johnny Morris Road, and Brodie Lane; and the levy of a tax sufficient to pay for the bonds and notes.

City of Sunset Valley General Election

Rose Ann Cardona*
Ariel Cloud

Mickie Powers*
Walter Jenkins*
James Tessmann
Myrna Zapata
Special Election

Ketan U. Kharod
Charles Goyette
Donny Hurwitz

Proposition 1
The creation of the Sunset Valley Crime Control and Prevention District dedicated to crime reduction programs and the adoption of a proposed local sales and use tax at a rate of one-eighth of one percent.

Candidates were selected based on the elections taking place within this newspaper’s coverage area. A * indicates the incumbent.