Hutto Mayor will not seek re-election

Updated Feb. 12 at 1:20 p.m.

Hutto Mayor Debbie Holland announced she will not seek re-election in the May election.

She began as a Council member for three years in the 1980s, and she returned to the Council in 2004. She was elected mayor in 2011 to fulfill an unexpired term.

“I wouldn’t trade those years for anything. It’s been really exciting times here in Hutto. We’ve come so far from just having nothing to everything that’s here now,"Holland said. "I have thoroughly enjoyed being a public servant and having an opportunity to be a part of the groundwork of creating a viable and modern community.”

Place 3 Councilmember Ronnie Quintanilla-Perez, who was elected in 2004, also announced recently she would not seek re-election.

Two local businessmen Doug Gaul and Nathan Killough have announced their bid for the mayoral and council seats, respectively.

The filing deadline for candidacy submissions is Feb. 19 at 5 p.m.

Correction: We incorrectly said Ronnie Quintanilla-Perez was elected in 2008 when she was elected in 2004.