Four disaster recovery centers in Hays County to close Dec. 12

The four disaster recovery centers in Hays County will close Dec. 12, after which all applications for assistance will have to be done online or by phone.

A disaster recovery center, or DRC, will open at the Hays County Government Center on Dec. 15, where representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency will be available to answer flood victims' questions about the types of assistance they qualify for. The DRC at the Government Center will be open noon-6 p.m. Dec. 15; 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Dec. 16-18; 10 a.m.-2 p.m. Dec. 19; and 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Dec. 21-22. The center will be closed Dec. 23-27 for the Christmas holidays, and officials will reassess the need to reopen the DRC after the break.

Those affected by flood can apply online at or by phone at 800-621-3362. Those who use TTY, a telecommunications device for the deaf, should call 800-462-7585. The toll-free lines are open 7 a.m.-10 p.m. seven days a week, according to a Hays County press release.

FEMA is encouraging those who were affected by storms, flooding and straight-line wind damage Oct. 22-31 to register with the agency. Those who registered in May due to damage from the Memorial Day weekend flood must register again to receive recovery assistance for the October events.

A presidential disaster declaration was made Nov. 25, which made Hays County and other Texas counties eligible for FEMA assistance.

DRC Locations open through Dec. 12

San Marcos Activity Center
501 E. Hopkins St., San Marcos
9 a.m.-5 p.m., Mon.-Sat.

Hays County Precinct Office | Kyle
5458 FM 2770, Kyle
9 a.m.-5 p.m. Mon.-Sat.

Hays County Precinct Office | Buda
500 Jack C. Hays Trail, Buda
9 a.m.-5 p.m. Mon.-Sat.

Wimberley Community Center
14068 RR 12, Wimberley
9 a.m.-5 p.m. Mon.-Sat.