Hutto ISD board of trustees selected as top in Central Texas region

The Hutto ISD board of trustees has been selected as the top ISD board in Central Texas, according to an HISD news release.

A regional selection committee picked the board as "honor board of the year" from among 60 ISDs in Central Texas' Region 13, the news release states.

"It is an honor to receive this award," HISD Board President Phillip Boutwell said in a statement. "But honestly, the truly amazing people in our district are the employees. We have a district full of humble servants."

It is now one of 20 regional winners throughout the state that could be selected as the top ISD board of the state in September by the Texas Association of School Boards, the news release states.

The regional committee's decision was based on factors such as ethics, educational performance and support for improvement projects.

The seven-member board includes Boutwell, Vice President Byron McDaniel, Secretary Billie Logiudice, Sheila Knapp, Doug Gaul, Connie Gooding and Kelly Farmer.