Hutto ISD board race: Farmer wins seat, Gooding hangs on by 2 votes

Updated 10:07 CST

Unofficial final voting tallies from Williamson County indicate that incumbent Connie Gooding and newcomer Kelly Farmer have won the two at-large trustee positions on the board of the Hutto Independent School District.

The results are unofficial with 30 of 30 precincts reporting.

Farmer won her seat with 314 votes. Gooding, who has secured her second three-year term on the board, had 256 votes.

Gooding barely edged out challenger Terrence Owens, who had 254 votes. Kara Pinnelli, the final candidate on the ballot, trailed the pack with 181 votes.

The winners were chosen by simple majority with the top two candidates taking the open positions. Each voter was allowed to pick two candidates.

"I feel very honored and supported and like the opinions I have about the school district and the campaigning we did really hit home with people," Farmer said. "The thing I am most interested in would be driving the growth initiatives, looking at how Hutto is positioned with its tax base and what the district is doing to bring in larger businesses by working with the [Hutto Economic Development Corporation] and the chamber of commerce."

Gooding said she is glad to be able to remain on the board for another three years. She was initially elected in 2011.

"I'm very happy that I've got the support of my community and that I will be able to continue with the school board," Gooding said. "Hutto is moving forward and I want to be a part of that."

Owens said he was blessed and humbled by the support that he received during his campaign. He said he will continue to be involved with the school district through ISD advisory boards and other functions.

The HISD is made up of seven trustees that are elected at-large and serve staggered three-year terms. The board is responsible for the policy decisions of the ISD, including those pertaining to school taxes and budgets.

Polls for the May 10 special elections in Williamson County closed at 7 p.m. In-person early voting ended on Tuesday, May 6.