Council incumbents seeking re-election

All three incumbent City Council members up for re-election have announced their intentions to seek another term.

Mayor Alan McGraw, Place 1 Councilman Craig Morgan and Place 4 Councilman Carlos Salinas will be up for re-election May 10. Official filing for the election began Jan. 29. Round Rock's City Council members are elected to three-year terms.

McGraw has served on the council since 2001 and was first elected mayor in 2008. He announced his intention to seek a third term in office at a Round Rock Chamber of Commerce luncheon Jan. 21.

"It has been a humbling experience serving as the mayor of Round Rock," he said to the chamber audience. "If the voters approve, I would like to continue working with you and for you as the mayor of Round Rock."

Morgan was elected to his first term on the council in 2011. He is a local attorney and serves as a board member for the St. David's Round Rock Medical Center and the CHASCO YMCA.

"Round Rock is a great place to live and continues to have one of the lowest tax rates in the area," said Morgan, who announced his intention to run Jan. 2. "I look forward to working with the mayor and the rest of the council in providing high-value services to the citizens of Round Rock."

Salinas, a division manager for State Farm insurance, will be seeking his fourth term on the council. Salinas also serves on Round Rock ISD's Citizen Bond Committee, the Literacy Council of Williamson County and has affiliations with several other civic organizations.

"In my role as a current council member, I have been a part of a team that has helped guide Round Rock to well-deserved regional, state and national recognition," Salinas said. "I hope the citizens of Round Rock allow me the privilege of serving this city one more term."

Feb. 24 is the last day to file an application to be on the May ballot.